Matt Ramsey
South Korea
Chungju
Chungbuk
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
If you defeat a monster at Sandpoint Cathedral "you may add a blessing from your discard to your hand." Is/Are Ripnugget and Stickfoot one or two monsters for the purposes of the cathedral?

(hopefully I didn't overlook the answer to this in the rules somewhere)
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd Warnken
United States
Harrison
Ohio
flag msg tools
I'm not crazy. My mother had me tested.
badge
????
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for asking a question that hasn't already been asked!

The card isn't defeated unless you pass both checks so it is just one monster.
14 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Ramsey
South Korea
Chungju
Chungbuk
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I wasn't sure if a card really counted as a monster. You must defeat the two monsters(?) separately so I can see it being defined either way.

Do we have a rules/Mike/faq reference for this yet?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Ostman
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No. Todd wasn't being sarcastic. This is a new question. Huzzah!

But - I agree. That's one Monster.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Selinker
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
miar wrote:
I wasn't sure if a card really counted as a monster. You must defeat the two monsters(?) separately so I can see it being defined either way.

Do we have a rules/Mike/faq reference for this yet?


I don't think any of us ever thought of the card as possibly being two monsters. It's just one.
11 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Lawson
United Kingdom
Yateley
Hampshire
flag msg tools
designer
miar wrote:
I wasn't sure if a card really counted as a monster. You must defeat the two monsters(?) separately so I can see it being defined either way.

Do we have a rules/Mike/faq reference for this yet?

A "monster" is a card of type MONSTER (page 17). Since Ripnugget and Stickfoot is a single card, then it is a single "monster".
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Ramsey
South Korea
Chungju
Chungbuk
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I wonder if we are going to be having many things with this trigger (defeat a monster and~). If not, I may just house rule it that it counts as two monsters. If it's going to come up just once in a blue moon it's kind of fun, thematicly makes sense and shouldn't be unbalancing.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Bachtold
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmb
How many monsters is a Rat Swarm?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Bender
United States
Minneapolis
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mbachtold wrote:
How many monsters is a Rat Swarm?


Eleventy thousand billion!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Lawson
United Kingdom
Yateley
Hampshire
flag msg tools
designer
mbachtold wrote:
How many monsters is a Rat Swarm?

It depends if the card has been sleeved or not.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Malcolm Howell
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So to confirm something else that came up... you also can't banish Caltrops to defeat Stickfoot, because the whole card counts as one monster whose highest difficulty is greater than 9? (But you could use them to evade, because the highest difficulty is under 14.)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason K
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey, great question.

I'm wondering the same thing about the caltrops.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Selinker
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
GreatDebate wrote:
Hey, great question.

I'm wondering the same thing about the caltrops.


The whole card is one monster.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.