GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
9,487 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
17 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Board Game Design » Board Game Design

Subject: My RPG Card Game -- Looking for Feedback rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jozsh J.
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
mb
I'm a newbie game designer looking for general feedback/constructive criticism for a project and game I've been working on. This October I plan to try to spread the word about it and all that jazz, but before I do, I wanted to show it off to the pro's and the community of designers, and look for that feedback.

My idea is a card game (PvP) that was strongly inspired by classic role-playing video games.
I really tried to create that around the mechanics of the card game and terminology with the actions and stuff. I played a lot of NES and SNES games in between work sessions. I also kinda' wanted the art style to reflect the simple, old school monsters that were created and appeared simplistic, like a blob or eye monster. One of the things I definitely wanted to do was to have the “chance” factor of actions. Kind of those swings and “Misses”.

I'm looking for any and all feedback: reflecting the project/ideas/rules

Online Rules:
http://melodyofshadows.com/online_rules

http://www.MelodyOfShadows.com

P.S.
Melody of Shadows is NOT the name of the card game, just the name of the project...I'm still trying to think of a solid name for the whole
idea.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Noah Gadea
United States
Sacramento
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: My Card Game Idea -- Project MoS
My first impression, and I hope this isn't taken the wrong way... the artwork looks a little Pokemonish. Are you aiming for an art style that's similar in that regard?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jozsh J.
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
mb
Re: My Card Game Idea -- Project MoS