Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Pandemic: In the Lab» Forums » Rules

Subject: Pilot movement questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jennifer Chen
United States
Bothell
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Couple of questions for the pilot movement capabilities.

No drive/ferry, but has the ability to fly to a city within 3 of the city he's in. That includes the space one over, correct? The distinction of the wording of drive/ferry vs flying in a case like that primarily affects drive/ferry actions such as mobile hospital?

Can pilots fly through research stations? So for example, can a pilot fly through a research station in Hong Kong and through Atlanta to get to Washington, if he's one space away from Hong Kong?

Thanks in advance!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
jenerationx wrote:
[the pilot has] no drive/ferry, but has the ability to fly to a city within 3 of the city he's in. That includes the space one over, correct?

Yes.

Quote:
The distinction of the wording of drive/ferry vs flying in a case like that primarily affects drive/ferry actions such as mobile hospital?

Correct; plus the Field Director's power.

Quote:
Can pilots fly through research stations?

No. (Research stations are not some form of "wormhole pairs." ;-)

The pilot cannot do the Shuttle Flight action (nor combine it with his flying ability).

Quote:
can a pilot fly through a research station in Hong Kong and through Atlanta to get to Washington, if he's one space away from Hong Kong?

No.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jennifer Chen
United States
Bothell
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Got it, thanks Tom. Alas re: wormholes!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grant Fikes
United States
Abilene
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
An important distinction must be made regarding the Dispatcher, though. While the Field Director's ability involves a Drive/Ferry action, meaning he cannot move the Pilot, the Dispatcher's ability is to move a pawn "as if it were your own". This phrase is why the rules say the Pilot is moved by normal movement actions when a Dispatcher or Special Orders is involved.

A really interesting consequence, as pointed out by the game designer, is that when Special Orders is played on the Pilot's turn, he moves one other pawn "as if it were [his] own", meaning that pawn can't use flights (direct, charter, or shuttle), but it can move up to three cities away for one action, and take a single passenger along! The ramifications of this are huge.

Anyhow, I do like the wormhole analogy Tom made. I'm glad it made the rules crystal-clear for you.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jennifer Chen
United States
Bothell
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Thanks for the additional details, interesting indeed. Special Orders/Dispatcher abilities have always been a little confusing for us, so we probably don't take advantage of them as much as we should.

Separate but related to the thread topic... I can't recall -- is research station hopping considered a flight, a drive/ferry, or something else entirely? Can the pilot hop from research station to research station as other pawns can (not through, which was my original question, but on, or is that not allowed either?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
jenerationx wrote:
is research station hopping considered a flight

Yes, a Shuttle Flight (see the action summary cards or rules).

Quote:
Can the pilot hop from research station to research station as other pawns can?

No.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.