Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Mice and Mystics» Forums » Rules

Subject: Timing questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andre Modt
msg tools
Avatar
mb
So, I was playing last night and there were some timing questions that came up.

First - Roach attacks Nez, Nez doesn't have any cheese but he rolls one cheese die on his defence. Does he get the damage and the cheese? Or does he get the cheese first and then the roach steals it?

Second - Minion wheel has five cheese already, filch attacks an enemy rat, but the enemy rolls a cheese in his defence. Does the cheese go to the wheel, the surge happens and filch only gets a regular cheese? Or does Filch steal the cheese from the wheel and the surge doesn't happen?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Foster
United States
Richmond
Virginia
flag msg tools
Ok. You have some interesting dilemmas.

First - Because the attack is rolled before the defense in this game, and not simultaneously, damage is dealt after defense is rolled. The cheese is an immediate effect upon rolling and then damage is dealt. No damage - no cheese for Nez.

Second - Being that cheese rolling is an immediate effect it would hit the clock and start a surge before the damage is actually dealt that causes the rat to die. So, cheese rolled fills the clock, surge, damage dealt, rat dies, regular cheese to Filch.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg
United States
Lowell
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Good answers Ian. thumbsup

The rule of thumb is that whenever a cheese is rolled, it's effects are immediate, so it would go wherever it would go depending on the situation, then you resolve the action that the dice were rolled for in the first place.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Walker
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Regarding the second question, this is from the official FAQ:

1.2.3: If there are 5 cheeses on the minion cheese wheel and then a Rat Warrior rolls a cheese while unsuccessfully defending against Filch (who has the Pilfer ability), what is the result?
A: As mentioned before, cheese results always happen first. In this case, the cheese rolled by the minion would trigger the surge forcing Filch to take a cheese from the general supply.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andre Modt
msg tools
Avatar
mb
Thanks guys!
We were finishing the campaign last night and these questions came up.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.