Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

The Great Zimbabwe» Forums » Rules

Subject: specialist and action order rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Remy M.
France
REAUMONT
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Hi,

Can I play several specialits I own during my turn but as 2 different actions ?
For example can I do that:
- play shaman
- upgrade monuments
- play herd (because I did not notice before upgrading my monument that I will have enough cattle to take advantage of the herd)

Remy
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Magnus Percan
Sweden
Malmö
Malmö
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Remy!

I think it is ok! According to page 6 in the rules, you can execute your actions i any order. But use each specialist only once per round.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeroen Doumen
Netherlands
Eindhoven
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Click to see this player's page
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, as described above by Magnus.

But note that you can take only one new specialist each round.

Jeroen
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Remy M.
France
REAUMONT
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Thank for your replies !!

Just to clarify,actions you can do (in any order) are:
- draft either a god or a specialist but not both of them
- either construct one new monument or upgrade monument(s) or set up craftmen
- play a specialist if any
- play another specialist if any
- play another specialist if any ...

In others words there is three main actions (1.draft, 2.use specialist, 3.construction) only the second one can be done several times.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeroen Doumen
Netherlands
Eindhoven
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Click to see this player's page
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can use a specialist at any point in your turn. But you have to use a specialist in the turn you acquire him!

Jeroen
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J C Lawrence
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
Well, you can take the Builder, pay him, but not use him on that turn to build a craftsman.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeroen Doumen
Netherlands
Eindhoven
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Click to see this player's page
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
For me, that counts as using the Builder, without enjoying his benefits . But you're absolutely right (same goes for Nomads).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Remy M.
France
REAUMONT
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Sorry to ask again (maybe it is due to my poor english) but the point I want to clarify is : can I do the action "use specialist" at two distinct points during my turn (ie do twice the action "use specialist" but for 2 different specialists). As I can do only once the "draft" action and the "construction" action I wonder if it was the same for the "use specialist" action... It is a very tiny detail of rules that do not stop to enjoy the game anyway !!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J C Lawrence
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
jmdsplotter wrote:
For me, that counts as using the Builder, without enjoying his benefits :p. But you're absolutely right (same goes for Nomads).


Which also implies that I can take and pay the Shaman without placing a new resource, or more generally, that only payment is required not use of the power. I don't think this is the common understanding.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeroen Doumen
Netherlands
Eindhoven
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Click to see this player's page
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rems38 wrote:
Sorry to ask again (maybe it is due to my poor english) but the point I want to clarify is : can I do the action "use specialist" at two distinct points during my turn (ie do twice the action "use specialist" but for 2 different specialists). As I can do only once the "draft" action and the "construction" action I wonder if it was the same for the "use specialist" action... It is a very tiny detail of rules that do not stop to enjoy the game anyway !!

No problem!

Yes, you can use different specialists at different times during your turn.

For example, you could start by using the Builder, build a second ivory carver (in range of a single new ivory), and then use the Rainmaker to put that ivory in range of the original ivory carver.

Jeroen
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeroen Doumen
Netherlands
Eindhoven
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Click to see this player's page
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
clearclaw wrote:
jmdsplotter wrote:
For me, that counts as using the Builder, without enjoying his benefits . But you're absolutely right (same goes for Nomads).


Which also implies that I can take and pay the Shaman without placing a new resource, or more generally, that only payment is required not use of the power. I don't think this is the common understanding.


No, since the use of the Shaman requires you to place a new resource.

The key difference here is that using the Builder makes building craftsmen "cheaper" for that turn (paying to the Builder card instead of to the bank) - whether you choose to build craftsmen or not. Similar for Nomads: they allow you to build a new monument directly adjacent to another one, whether you choose the action of building monuments or not.

On the other hand, the actions of the other specialists do not depend on your choice of action for the turn, so you always perform these actions if you pay them.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J C Lawrence
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
Capiche. Danke.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.