Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
15 Posts

1775: Rebellion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Benedict Arnold card rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Paolo Zamagni
Italy
Pievequinta
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You can exchange 1 Regular (Blue) "ARMY" with a Red cube.
The word "Army" mean ALL blue Units in the same area or just 1?
Example in 1 area with 3 blue and 2 white "Units" I can exchange all 3 Blue units with 3 Red ones then this will be a battle 3 vs 2?
Thank you in advance
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lewis Karl
United States
Vienna
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The card says "Replace 1 Continental Army (blue cube image shown) with 1 British Regulars (red cube image shown) in any one area."

So you replace one blue cube with one red cube.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Derderian
United States
Troy
Michigan
flag msg tools
I see why you questioned the card. The card does say army and army means a formed group of a faction and/or allies. An army can be 1 unit or many units.

In this case, I think it is fairly clear that an army in this case is 1 unit as the card also shows 1 unit.

Also, it would be way to powerful if you could flip all units in the area as this would not be realistic at all.

In a perfect world it would have said 1 unit instead of army.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Palmer
Canada
Ayr
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, it is just one cube. "Army" was not the best word to use, but just one cube is what is intended.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Gallo
United States
O'Fallon
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
One other strike against converting all the units (rather than one cube) is that armies are formed instantaneously when the owning player designates them for movement.

I suppose you could argue that Benedict forms the army and then marches them to the British way of thinking...

I am sticking with the "one cube" response.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeph Stahl
Canada
Grimsby
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
www.thebrickbrewery.com
badge
www.thebrickbrewery.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
One cube it is.
The wording army should be unit.

Thanks and have fun!
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Amarice *
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just a little doubt, the card is said to be played in the movement phase, does it mean you replace one cube in the area you have moved into, or you can replace a cube anywhere you like as if played during reinforcement phase?

For instance, an area with one blue cube and four Native Americans (green) becomes one red and four green, then British Regulars make their moves anywhere else (not touching that area), having won an area and four Native Americans by the power of one cube replacement.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Drazen
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
Just a little doubt, the card is said to be played in the movement phase, does it mean you replace one cube in the area you have moved into, or you can replace a cube anywhere you like as if played during reinforcement phase?

For instance, an area with one blue cube and four Native Americans (green) becomes one red and four green, then British Regulars make their moves anywhere else (not touching that area), having won an area and four Native Americans by the power of one cube replacement.


If you're playing the card in the Movement phase, and it doesn't specify the beginning or ending, presumably that can be anytime (you just can't move into an area with NA + one blue cube, switch them, and then march off the whole army with the freshly changed cube; only the cubes that hadn't moved with another movement can move).

This would be handy if it was BNNN vs. RRYYNNN, as you'd want to switch the blue cube before the natives flee (or maybe you're the only one with the NA reinforcements card, in which case you don't want to!)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Amarice *
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The scenario we played was as follows...

There was an area with one blue cube and four green cubes.
The Benedict Arnold card was played (no movements yet).
The mentioned area turned to have one red cube and four green cubes.
The game continued and that area was not touched, no British Army entered the area, the movement for that round was used to move other armies in other areas.

So the conclusion was that an American Bl-Gr-Gr-Gr-Gr Army became a British Army settled there, the British not only gained four Native Americans but also took away the Americans control of the Colony.
Such was the power of that card without engaging a battle.
Americans lost a Colony and four Native Americans just for leaving one blue cube alone.

Did we play wrong?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Drazen
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
That sounds OK to me. The Benedict Arnold card is quite powerful when used as you described, and is basically worth 1 VP, as it can swing any weak colony.

That's probably the point of the card, because replacing one cube is quite weak if it isn't for denying colony control, which is a critical element of the game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Nold
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
what happens when it is played on an area where there is a blue and a a white cube? Does the British regular immediately become the attacker in that area or can they move away?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeph Stahl
Canada
Grimsby
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
www.thebrickbrewery.com
badge
www.thebrickbrewery.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
softhook wrote:
what happens when it is played on an area where there is a blue and a a white cube? Does the British regular immediately become the attacker in that area or can they move away?


Yes, a battle is formed. The new red cube cannot move, but other supporting armies could move in to help.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Nold
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Welshy welshy
New Zealand
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Who would be the defender?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeph Stahl
Canada
Grimsby
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
www.thebrickbrewery.com
badge
www.thebrickbrewery.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
welshy wrote:
Who would be the defender?


The active player's side is the attacker.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.