Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Sword of Rome» Forums » Rules

Subject: Removing support after combat rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andy Sizemore
United States
Crown Point
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Currently in a 5-player game, and just wanted to clarify the mechanics of removing support from the loser's spaces/cities.

First, we wanted to confirm that the actions in BOTH 7.3.3 (Removing Another Power's Support) AND 7.3.4 (Adding or Removing Support After Battle) apply. That is, the actions are additive, and not exclusive, when removing support after combat.

Second, is it correct that the combat winner may reduce the loyalty of a combat loser's city (subject to garrison CU's) even though the city is not adjacent to a space controlled by the winner? In particular, could one potentially convert an enemy city under siege (say by reducing the loyalty to zero if no enemy CU's are in the city) even though the city in question was no where near the battle? If so, does it matter whether the power who won the combat is conducting the siege, or could it be any power who benefits from the conversion? (i.e. helping out an ally)

Thanks in advance!



 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Rubin
United States
Trenton
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
"It may be doubted whether so small a number of men ever employed so short a space of time with greater or more lasting effects upon the history of the world.” — Sir George Otto Trevelyan on the Battles of Trenton and Princeton
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
7.3.3 and 7.3.4 are applied independently (and never simultaneously) so they are naturally additive.

You may use battle losses to reduce the loyalty of besieged cities, possibly causing their capitulation to the besiegers (who may or may not be the same as the victor in the battle that triggered the reduction). However, any reductions under 7.3.4 to any city (including a besieged one) are restricted by the size of the garrison.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Sizemore
United States
Crown Point
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the quick reply!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.