Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Discworld: Ankh-Morpork» Forums » Rules

Subject: Who wins if the "Riots" event card shows up? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Luis Paulino Mora Lizano
Costa Rica
Asunción de Belén
Heredia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
And of course, it fulfills its requirements.

The instructions, at least those in Spanish, indicate every character's victory conditions, and say that if the deck runs out and Vimes is not present, players must score points to determine the winner.

Nevertheless, they don't say that this same rule applies to the "Riots" event card, which in deed has no rule, nor in the rulebook, nor in itself, to determine the winner.

Does this mean that everyone loses or, more correctly, that nobody wins? It makes sense thematicly, cause it would mean that the city turned so chaotic, even for Ankh-Morpork, that nobody could call himself as the winner.

Besides this interpretation is more fair in terms of gameplay, cause it avoids sudden lucky wins. When the deck is reaching the end and players see that they probably won't fulfill their victory conditions, they may start working to get more points and to low their rivals properly, hopping or guessing that Vimes is not around.

Nevertheless, if the game ends suddenly, calling a winner it just seems arbitrary.

Of course, lucky and capriciousness, themacticly makes sense in a city like Ankh-Morpork, but they just don't fit as well in terms of gameplay.

So, which is the official statement about this matter? Does the English rules have the same issue?

Thank you for your answers.

Best regards...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
H-B-G
United Kingdom
Halesowen
West Midlands
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You win on points

English Rules wrote:
Riots
If there are eight or more trouble markers on the board then the game ends immediately. You now work out who has won by adding up points (see page 6). Please note that if a player is Commander Vimes then they do not win at this stage, although they may still win on points.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luis Paulino Mora Lizano
Costa Rica
Asunción de Belén
Heredia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks.

Sadly, the only rule that states on the Spanish instructions refers only to the case in which the deck runs out of cards.

Spanish Rules wrote:
Si la partida se acaba porque se ha agotado la pila de cartas Y ADEMÁS nadie tiene la carta de personalidad del «Comandante Vimes», entonces el ganador es el jugador que tenga más puntos.


Nice to see that they didn't make the same mistake in the English rules.

Best regards...
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phelan
Portugal
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Schroinger wrote:
Thanks.

Sadly, the only rule that states on the Spanish instructions refers only to the case in which the deck runs out of cards.

Spanish Rules wrote:
Si la partida se acaba porque se ha agotado la pila de cartas Y ADEMÁS nadie tiene la carta de personalidad del «Comandante Vimes», entonces el ganador es el jugador que tenga más puntos.


Nice to see that they didn't make the same mistake in the English rules.

Best regards...
Don't you have a list of the event cards at the end of the rulebook, in the spanish version?
That's where this is on the English version. And yeah, it's what DaveD said.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luis Paulino Mora Lizano
Costa Rica
Asunción de Belén
Heredia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Phelanpt wrote:
Don't you have a list of the event cards at the end of the rulebook, in the spanish version?
That's where this is on the English version. And yeah, it's what DaveD said.


You're right. Yes, there is a list and yes, it says the same as in the English version.

I must pass over it. My mistake.

Spanish Rules, page 8 wrote:
Disturbios
Si hay ocho o más indicadores de problema en el tablero, la partida termina inmediatamente. Para determinar quién ha ganado, hay que contar puntos (véase página 6). Ten en cuenta que si un jugador es el Comandante Vimes, no gana en este momento, aunque aún así podría llegar a ganar por puntos.


Nevertheless, I still would have liked better that all the rules about the game end would have been in one single place in the rules.

Best regards...
3 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.