Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Will Shipley
United States
Valencia
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm pulling together a Kate-Atman-Datasucker runner deck for the Plugged In tourney (my first live tournament), and I'm having some trouble with the console. I'm new to Netrunner, and will likely have to buy a whole bunch of card packs in order to round the deck out for tournament play. My main problem is as follows:

-) Most Kate-Atman-Datasucker decks run 3xDesperado, for the econ boost when hammering centrals for datasucker tokens.
-) I only own 2 core sets.
-) With all the packs I'll be buying to make this deck, buying a 3rd core set is wayyyyy not on my priority list.

Although I'll only have 2xDesperado in my card pool, I expect to have 3xDoppelganger. That said, I'm well aware that Desperado combos more strongly with my deck concept than Doppelganger does. I'm well aware of this thread comparing the two:

http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/971790/why-desperado-is-bett...

I'm not building a deck that intends to abuse Doppelganger for extra clicks, so all in all I'd prefer the credit econ boost from successful runs. Doppelganger isn't horrible in this deck, but I have noticed my econ seems weaker when using it instead of Desperado. On the other hand, I've noticed that carrying only 2xDesperado significantly impacts the chance I'll see one of them in a given game.

To those with more deckbuilding experience, which of these deckbuilding evils would you consider to be lesser?
1) Running only 2 copies of Desperado in a tournament deck.
2) Running 3 copies of Doppelganger instead of Desperado.
3) Running 2xDesperado and 1xDoppelganger, just so that I have 3x(some_kind_of_console) ready to draw. (See also: 1xGrimoire, 1xSpinal Modem)

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rares Dragnea
msg tools