High Frontier Colonization» Forums » Reviews

Subject: A review of HF: Colonization rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: SPACE [+] [View All]
Rel Lor
New Zealand
Christchurch
flag msg tools
I've been lurking on here a while so I thought it was time to contribute. High frontier: Colonization seems a good place to start:

Firstly, to give some background I am quite a mixed gamer, enjoying things from Arkham Horrors' thematic style, to hard strategy such as Dominant Species. I'm relatively new to HF so view this review in that light.

First Impressions
First impressions of this product were mixed. The lack of a box was initially somewhat disappointing, however the quality of the board, components (cubes and extra disks) and cards was excellent (I felt the cards especially were better than the original.) There are however a few minor problems - board alignment being the most significant. The decision to print the player guide and politics track as part of the rulebook was also not ideal, but easily worked around by taking a copy.

Taking a more detailed look at the components it is hard not to be impressed. The board has about the most detailed solar system map you will ever see, significantly improving upon the base game alone. The new rulebook seemed somewhat easier to read than the previous, with the new modules being intriguing and well thought out additions to the game. I also enjoyed the technical section that explains the technologies behinds the game.

Gameplay