Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game: Rise of the Runelords – Base Set» Forums » Rules

Subject: Plague Zonbie rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Poskin
United States
Sauk Village
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We were playing tonight and the plague zombie showed up in one of the locations. Sajan rolled 3 dice and rolled a total of 4 missing by seven. Now normally he would have had to discard his hand but the card says:

If undefeated, banish the plague zombie and each character at this location must succeed at a constitution or fortitude 6 check or be dealt 1d4 acid damage.

Does this over ride the loss of seven cards?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Buetow
United States
McHenry
Illinois
flag msg tools
Combat Commander Archivist
badge
Move! Advance! Fire! Rout! Recover! Artillery Denied! Artillery Request! Command Confusion...say what?!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Why would it override it? He loses his hand and then makes the check. Of course, failing the check won't really hurt him as he has no more cards in his hand to lose as damage.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chad Brown
United States
Renton
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If an effect replaces the normal damage from failing a combat check, it will say so explicitly.

So:
Bad news: both normal damage and the acid from the plague zombie applies.
Good news: you probably didn't notice the acid damage.
Bad news: your allies at the location probably did notice.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle Nelstead
Canada
Langley
BC
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It doesn't change the combat result. The check would take place after the plague zombie is undefeated. They don't have to write "if undefeated, you lose the difference between your combat check and the monster's power" on every card
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian @BoardGameMonster
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Follow the steps in the Turn sequence docs and it should become clear that you suffer from BOTH damage sources!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Bender
United States
Minneapolis
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jpozsr wrote:
We were playing tonight and the plague zombie showed up in one of the locations. Sajan rolled 3 dice and rolled a total of 4 missing by seven. Now normally he would have had to discard his hand but the card says:

If undefeated, banish the plague zombie and each character at this location must succeed at a constitution or fortitude 6 check or be dealt 1d4 acid damage.

Does this over ride the loss of seven cards?



Every one else's comments hold, but I just wanted to focus on this. When discarding for damage you only discard from your hand. So Sajan will never loose more than four cards no matter how much damage he takes. Probably less if you recharged a couple of blessing first.

Sajan is very scrappy and a pretty good tank.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Poskin
United States
Sauk Village
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I understood that he could only lose his four cards, I was questioning the plague zombies ability I worked out for me anyway as Sajan was the only one there so he lost all his cards and moved on
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Folksman
United Kingdom
liverpool
Merseyside
flag msg tools
badge
Keep Crom and crush you enemies, see them driven before you, and hear the lamentation of their women.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
sorry to necro an old thread but i think its relevant.

Is the following example correct.

Amiri encounters ambush rolls on her wisdom d6+3 gets 4 loses all her hand of cards in damage.

Ambush states to search the desk for a monster, she draws plague zombie.

she has no cards so rolls on her strength D12 + 2 and rolls 9.

She has no cards so takes no damaage and ignores the zombies acid damamge.

is this correct?

thanks.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Warner
United States
Middletown
Delaware
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That is incorrect.

DaveyF wrote:
Amiri encounters ambush rolls on her wisdom d6+3 gets 4 loses all her hand of cards in damage.


Failing to defeat a barrier does not deal damage. Only failing to defeat a monster does.

If for some reason she'd encountered the Ambush with no cards in hand, then yes, she wouldn't take any damage from the Zombie if she failed to defeat it, as she had no cards to discard.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Folksman
United Kingdom
liverpool
Merseyside
flag msg tools
badge
Keep Crom and crush you enemies, see them driven before you, and hear the lamentation of their women.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ah ok great thanks for that. But she still lost all her cards to the zombie right?

she roled 9, zombie is 11 + 1d4 acid and rolled 2 (she had 4 cards)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Warner
United States
Middletown
Delaware
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DaveyF wrote:
ah ok great thanks for that. But she still lost all her cards to the zombie right?

she roled 9, zombie is 11 + 1d4 acid and rolled 2 (she had 4 cards)


Yes, she would loose all her cards then. (Unless she has some armor to take care of some of that damage.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Folksman
United Kingdom
liverpool
Merseyside
flag msg tools
badge
Keep Crom and crush you enemies, see them driven before you, and hear the lamentation of their women.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
thanks for your help
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Warner
United States
Middletown
Delaware
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You are welcome. Good luck on your adventure.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.