Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Renaissance Man» Forums » Rules

Subject: Completing the pyramid rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
kred raiders
Australia
Melbourne
Victoria
flag msg tools
mbmb
We have just played our first game, which ended in a stalemate as neither of us (2 player game) was able to complete our pyramid.
We reached Action 3 with no uncovered cards below in Actions 1 or 2. We had no tokens and none of the 3 exposed cards in Action 3 were hire or barter. We concluded that we could never finish the game.
There was a teach card, but as the Action 4 cards cover up the Action 3 cards, there could never be an opportunity to continue to use it until completion, by gaining Renaissance men.
Have we missed something or did we just play very badly in our first game?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Berger
United Kingdom
Bristol
Bristol
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You do have to plan ahead, usually by stocking up your stored actions. But also, there's a key rule ... You are always allowed to discard cards from your pyramid during your turn, and you will often need to. It's kind of a case of one step back to get two steps forward, though to be honest for me it's usually two steps back, one forward...
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
kred raiders
Australia
Melbourne
Victoria
flag msg tools
mbmb
Thanks. Of course! We had forgotten about tearing down cards.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.