Hide
7 Posts

BGG» Forums » Gaming Related » Computer Based Board Gaming

Subject: Tribal Survival a Quick Board Game rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Al Arowx
msg tools
Hi there I'm an indie game developer and I have just developed a simple hex based strategy game called Tribal Survival.

The core concepts I initially wanted to get into the game were resource depletion, population grow, conflict, pollution and climate change.

But the current alpha version currently only has population grown and resource depletion.

I've built the game in Unity3d and put the alpha up on Kongregate http://www.kongregate.com/games/Arowx/tribal-survival

I'd be interested to get your feedback on the game and the games mechancis.

Next post the games design.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Al Arowx
msg tools
The Games Design or Rules Set

It's multiplayer 2-6 players taking turns.

The hex based map has Sea/Desert/Land and Mountain tiles on an 8x8 hex grid.

Sea and Land (Blue/Green) tiles provide food or the Bio resource (+1 combat) this renews
Desert tiles (Yellow) provide the Oil resource (+2 combat).
Mountain tiles (Gray) provide the Metal resource (+3 combat).

Ideally the game is played with stackable pieces, and each player starts with a 3 stack or Tribe and can place them on any land tile.

The computer game has a fog of war mechanic, but this could be simulated on a board game with 2 sided hex tiles that are turned over, or players could use the battleship technique of having their own maps and maybe a GM to oversee that the maps match up.

The resources available on each tile are rolled on a D6 as the tile is explored.

So each turn the player:

Depletes the food Resource on their tiles by 1 for every 3 tribe members.
If there is not enough food or the player is on a Mountain or Desert Tile they lose one tribe member.

Move each Tribe 1 hex.
Grow their Tribe +1 tribe member/piece added to stack (uses 1 bio resource).