Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

The Guns of Gettysburg» Forums » Rules

Subject: Attacker facing after in-place attack rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
jim b
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
The rules say that "attacking blocks must be fronted so that their rear is the last area they crossed" (p10, final advance).

However, an in-place attacker doesn't cross any area to reach the attacked position. So: is an in-place attacker obligated to maintain facing after a successful attack?

There's two situations where this comes up:
i. group attacks allow supporting blocks to attack in-place into a vacant position (to offer flanking and/or artillery support), and,
ii. the advanced-rule for Fully Obstructed Positions allows an attack, in-place, against an enemy in a fully-obstructed position.

How do others interpret the facing obligations here?

Note: I posted this question to a related thread yesterday, but decided it was more appropriate/clear as a distinct rules question. Please forgive the repost.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rich James
United States
Plano
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
Microbadge: Up Front fanMicrobadge: High Frontier fan - Your trip starts here!Microbadge: ComancherĂ­a: The Rise and Fall of the Comanche Empire fanMicrobadge: Linux userMicrobadge: Soccer fan
Per the replies from Bowen in similar threads, the attacker does not get to change his facing after an attack. There is a rule that prevents immediate counter attacks in a winning attacker's rear. That rule could be exploited if the attacker could change facing. But, bottom line, Bowen has said that the attacker does not get to change facing after the attack.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls