Star Wars: X-Wing Miniatures Game» Forums » Strategy

Subject: Basic X/Y squad help. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lanthal Rowning
Australia
flag msg tools
Hi all,

I'm fairly new to the game and still have a lot to learn re: squad building but I wanted some opinions on a simple X/Y Build I put together which I'm sure has been seen a thousand times. I have no wave 3 stuff but have 2x A-wing and 2x Tie interceptors plus Firespray and Falcon arriving this week so I will have those cards as options for any suggested changes.

The squad looks thus currently:

Biggs w/ Shield Upggrade and R2-D2 (32)
Wedge w/ Push the limit (33)
Horton Salm w/ Ion Cannon, Proton Torps and R2 Astromech (35)

The idea being to keep Biggs alive for as long as possible while Wedge goes to town and Salm disrupts squad movement with Ion Cannon. I know that Proton torps are not everyone's fave but I wanted to see if I could use it to pull off an early hit from range to get the battle going. (I assume that Salm's re-roll counts for torps as well). The R2 astro just increases Salm's maneuver options given that there are 4 moves providing stress to Y- wings.

Any thoughts and feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andreas Krüger
Germany
Krefeld
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Nice squad. Practice formation flying :-). Torpedoes are like made for Horton Salm.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Hurp
United Kingdom
Aldershot
Hampshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I've not flown Biggs much, so other people's opinion probably hold more weight but here's my comments;
Biggs is still going to go down in a couple of rounds of focused fire, and for that reason I think that you'll get more benefit from R2-F2 (action: add one agility for the round) than R2-D2.
For Wedge, to remain in formation, you don't want to be worried by additional stress. I would think about Marksmanship instead of Push The Limit.