Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Mr. Madison's War: The Incredible War of 1812» Forums » Rules

Subject: Naval Reinforcements rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Paolo Bignami
Italy
Novara
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I've a question about the naval reinforcements.
I'm the USA and it's the Spring-Autumn turn of 1813 (I have the initiative).
In the previous turn we did our Free Naval Withdrawal and now Lake Erie has no ships but only the british Lake Control Marker as shown here under



I should put my naval reinforcements now.
In particular I have 2 Brigs and 5 Schooners for Lake Erie.
Can I put them on the Lake Control Box (even though there is a british Lake Control Marker)?
Reading 11.44. I'd say yes, because the Lake Control Marker does not control the lake; 14.42 says that if the space is controlled by enemy, the ships of the reinforcements are lost permanently (but I think this applies when the ships are to be positioned in a single specified town, like for example Ogdensburg and Burlington in 1812 turn).
If the answer is yes, this would also say that the British will lose 2VP when I put there my reinforcements.
Or should the reinforcements be placed in any lakeside town of Lake Erie?
If I well understand the mechanics, I'll go first being the USA, put my naval reinforcements in Lake Erie box, take control of it and so the British player can't do his Free Naval Return.
Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Freddy Dekker
Netherlands
Friesland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
yeah the control marker is there to remind you were you were at.

when winter comes you can not stay on a lake, so you leave the marker
when spring comes and it's good boating weather you can go back.

I must admit I'm not quite sure asto why this rule exists.
Is it to give the game more realism or maybe there is something cunning and game changing in there which has escaped me.

Truth be told I didn't do much with the fleet when I played the game.
Somehow I did't feel the need to go boating.
But ofcourse that may all be very different in a next game.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paolo Bignami
Italy
Novara
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you very much
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paolo Bignami
Italy
Novara
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
.. and I forgot to re-read rules from 15.0 to 15.34 shake
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mayor Jim
United States
Fort Wright
Kentucky
flag msg tools
badge
Vote Often!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rameau wrote:
.. and I forgot to re-read rules from 15.0 to 15.34 shake


Yes, reading the rules is fairly important cry
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.