Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Anthony Talone
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
From someone new. 1) i keep seeing the term "modern boardgame". Could someone define this for me. Is it everything after a certain date or what? 2) the terms "euro games" compared to "american games" which sometimes the words crap and trash are used for either or both. Could someone explain these as well.

As an introduction let me share i am a 58 yr old who due to health problems have become somewhat of a couch potatoe. Two weeks before christmas last year someone broke into my house and amongst other things stole my computer. When priorities were made a new one was out of the question so i bought an Ipad Mini and in the last 10 months i have found board games play very well on it so you will find me more on the ios forums. Thought i would get a quicker response here though, as i am still learning to navigate this site.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Terry Gwazdosky
United States
Clinton
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Welcome!

In my opinion, "modern" and "euro" are fairly synonymous. These games are less about player elimination and more about resource management. The themes of most of the games is secondary to the mechanics. I'd say this trend started about 1995 with the Arrival of Catan.

"Ameritrash" games tend to be heavy on theme and less about mechanics and more about the experience. Arkham Horror is a good example.

Both are fun, it all depends on what you enjoy.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
meepleonboard
United Kingdom
Somerset/London
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Welcome!

Firstly, there is real joy in owning and playing with the hard copies of these games. Don't think it only happens onscreen.