BGG» Forums » Gaming Related » Do It Yourself

Subject: Looking for printing services for a CCG rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ben G.
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Hi, I created an account here because I feel like you guys know your stuff.

I'm in my last year at university and for my final project I decided to make a CCG. Currently, I'm looking for printing services, but to stay true to the ones I've researched, I'd love to find one that can print some foil cards so the "rare" cards can be holofoil. Does anyone know of printing services that can do this? I'd be very grateful!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Schumann
United States
Saint Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You'll need to negotiate with a print shop for that. I imagine you'll need a print run of thousands to make that cost effective.

If you want prototypes or lower quantities, printerstudio.com does great work for very reasonable prices. No foil, but they will make single decks of as few as 54 cards (or even just 10 tarot sized cards).
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
todd sanders
United States
pittsburgh
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
seconding chris here

but if you need 'rares' (foil question aside) use printerstudio.com and print a deck that has just copies of your rare cards in them (5 of X, 6 of Y etc...). then once the decks arrive you can shuffle individual cards from this rares deck into the standard decks randomly distributing them

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aerjen Tamminga
Netherlands
Tilburg
Noord-Brabant
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
I can also recommend printerstudio for getting prototypes ready. By the time that you're ready to do your 5000+ print run (please. please, please make sure you pay for that after raising funds from pre orders) you can look at Cartamundi.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben G.
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools