Up Nort' Der
I finally got to play for the first time earlier today (It was awesome, BTW!), and a situation came up that I couldn't find in the rules. Someone had the Movement 2 Gene card, and were only one point over the new environment card. They didn't have any BP's, and they were wondering if they would be allowed to downgrade to Movement 1. I couldn't find an answer one way or another in the rules. You'd have to give up the entire card without "downgrading".
No single gene by itself will exceed the number on the environment card, so presumably there was something else that could have been discarded instead (perhaps costing more BP to recover, but not two separate buys to get).
Also, just to clarify, when you score points, do you hop over the other markers, or do you stack them?Occupied spaces aren't counted when advancing, so score markers leap over each other.