Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Merchant of Venus (second edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Free pass with 0 laser/shield hazard checks? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tony Hodge
United States
Hanover
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I played this game for the first time over the weekend and we missed a few things but even with re-reading the rules I'm curious about something.

If you have 0 lasers or shields and land on one of the hazard checks for these is it essentially a free pass since if you fail you can't lower that stat any more and can continue moving?

It just seems silly if that is the case that having no shields or lasers would mean you don't have to respond in any way to a threat to those systems.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MC Crispy
United Kingdom
Basingstoke
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Good try, but no. If you fail your check - i.e. the dice is greater than or equal to the checked value - then you may either end your turn or pay the penalty. If you don't pay the penalty ('cos you can't or won't) then you end your turn.
6 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls