Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Napoleon against Europe» Forums » Rules

Subject: Odd rules for losses in sea battles? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Frank Müller
Austria
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
I am not sure, but the fact that in a sea battle only one side can loose a fleet while the winner has cannot suffer any losses sounds very odd to me.

Is this a realistic depiction of a napoleonic sea battle?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Subatomic Birdicle
United States
flag msg tools
*chirp*
badge
*squawk*
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. In fact it was quite common for the victors to capture the losers' ships, thus actually increasing the size of their fleet. In that sense the game is not generous enough to the victors.

Look at the battle of Trafalgar, the big naval battle of the war, with 33 British ships vs 41 Franco-Spanish ships:

British losses: none

France:
10 ships captured,
one ship destroyed

Spain:
11 ships captured
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.