Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Cosmic Encounter: Cosmic Conflict» Forums » Rules

Subject: Questions Concerning "The Claw" rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
The Broox
United States
Arlington
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
We played our first game with red aliens last night and we found Void and Gambler relatively straightforward but we were left with a couple questions concerning The Claw.

1) After successfully stealing a planet The Claw player is instructed to return the claw card to their hand and then play another claw card from their hand. One player read this as meaning it could not be the same card but was overruled by the majority who said that playing the same card as the claw again was within the rules. Who was correct?

2) After a planet is stolen does it's color matter? For instance, The Claw was red and had just stolen a planet from black. On black's next turn the destiny card was black. Black wanted to then invade his former planet that was now owned by red claiming it was allowed since the planet itself was black. Is this legal?

3) When does the matching of the claw card to played cards occur? For instance, if the claw card is an Attack 01 and another player plays an Attack 10 but the first and second digit get switched thanks to a flare is it a match?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Thornsen
United States
Nottingham
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. You can re-play the same card. The point of returning it to your hand is so that the other players won't know for sure if it's the same or not.

2. It's not black's planet anymore, since it isn't in his home system. It's actually not even a planet you can put ships on anymore - it's essentially a really large token worth 1 Foreign Colony.

3. I'm not 100% on this, but I say No: effects which modify the value of a played card do not cause it to suddenly match or not-match the Claw (this includes effects like Emotion Control as well, which "changes" the card into Negotiate). The Claw uses their power if the physical card matches the Claw, regardless of what the ultimate "revealed value" becomes due to effects like Mirror.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ido Abelman
Israel
Hod Hasharon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Faranim wrote:
It's actually not even a planet you can put ships on anymore - it's essentially a really large token worth 1 Foreign Colony.

That's completely false. You are mixing it with locust. Locust devours a planet, making it a "large colony token". The claw "just" moves a planet from another system to his own, and then makes those planets also count as foreign colonies. The ppower sheet specifically mentions the case where the claw establishes a home colony on the planet. It's implied that other players can also target it in encounters. It's the claw's planet for every purpose except it also counts as a FC.
And of course, it's not in black's system anymore so he can only attack it by drawing the claw's destiny. Then it'd be a regular FC.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mil Myman
United States
Fountain Valley
California
flag msg tools
Why is there no Word Games Forum or Subdomain?
badge
There should be a Word Games Subdomain, or at least a Word Games Forum!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Broox wrote:
1) After successfully stealing a planet The Claw player is instructed to return the claw card to their hand and then play another claw card from their hand. One player read this as meaning it could not be the same card but was overruled by the majority who said that playing the same card as the claw again was within the rules. Who was correct?

You can play the same card. It is after all, a card in your hand. The reason you take it back into your hand is so the other players don't know if you're playing the same card or a different one (unless you happen to be out of cards at the time).

Quote:
2) After a planet is stolen does it's color matter? For instance, The Claw was red and had just stolen a planet from black. On black's next turn the destiny card was black. Black wanted to then invade his former planet that was now owned by red claiming it was allowed since the planet itself was black. Is this legal?

No, it's not legal. Destiny determines the *system* encountered, not the planet color. The The Claw is a pretty strong power. One of the balancing factors is that the planets enter his system empty, which means they're easy targets for other players to colonize.

Quote:
3) When does the matching of the claw card to played cards occur? For instance, if the claw card is an Attack 01 and another player plays an Attack 10 but the first and second digit get switched thanks to a flare is it a match?

The matching of the card is not related to the outcome of the encounter, so it's the actual face value of the card - the "ink". No modifications to its value matter. If the The Claw's claw is an 08, any Attack 08 can trigger the power. It doesn't matter if it became a 80 from the Mirror, or a 0 from the Graviton, or a N from Emotion Control or Empath, or a 24 from the Tripler, etc., it's still an 08 for the The Claw.

And the opposite is true also. A card modified to an 08 does *not* match the The Claw's claw of 08. An Attack 18 modified to 08 by the Graviton, a 23 modified to 08 by the Tripler, a Morph that becomes an 08, etc., are *not* 08's for matching the claw. Only the ink matters.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.