Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Cuba Libre» Forums » Rules

Subject: Card 47 - Pact of Miami - with Yellow and Blue Set to Play: How? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Adam Parker
Australia
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Great game design makes the complex simple, replayability maximum, and abstraction credible.
badge
It’s not how well you roll that counts but how well the dice suit the game.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Card 47 - Pact of Miami has come up and the yellow Directorio are 1st Eligible with the blue Government 2nd Eligible.

The Directorio decides to play the Event using the top text that reads:

Quote:
Surprise for dictator and rebels: Remove 2 guerrillas. Govt ineligible through next card.


So the Directorio decides to get rid of 2 pesky 26July guerillas bugging them and places the Government cylinder in the Ineligible box.

Who now becomes 2nd Eligible this turn?

The Syndicate or 26July - or no-one and the game moves on to the next card?!

Surprise!

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Owens
United States
Chattanooga
Tennessee
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Adam Parker wrote:
Card 47 - Pact of Miami has come up and the yellow Directorio are 1st Eligible with the blue Government 2nd Eligible.

The Directorio decides to play the Event using the top text that reads:

Quote:
Surprise for dictator and rebels: Remove 2 guerrillas. Govt ineligible through next card.


So the Directorio decides to get rid of 2 pesky 26July guerillas bugging them and places the Government cylinder in the Ineligible box.

Who now becomes 2nd Eligible this turn?

The Syndicate or 26July - or no-one and the game moves on to the next card?!

Surprise!



It depends on which other factions were in the eligible box at the time of the event.

If neither of the other two factions were in the Eligible box, then no one is 2nd eligible; you reset eligibility and move on to the next card.
3 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ricky Gray
United States
Powder Springs
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Copy and paste from 2.3 and 2.3.1 (emphasis mine):

When playing an Event card, up to 2 Factions will execute Opera- tions or the Event; other Factions may Pass and collect Resources.
• Factions whose cylinder is in the “Eligible” box receive these options in the left-to-right order of the Faction symbols shown at the top of the card.
• Factions with cylinders in the “Ineligible” box do nothing.

2.3.1 Eligibilty. Factions that did not execute an Operation or Event on the previous card are Eligible (their cylinders will start the card in the “Eligible” box per 2.3.7). Factions that did are Ineligible. (All Factions start the game Eligible.) See also Free Operations, 3.1.2.


Who is listed third at the top of the card? If they are in the Eligible section, it is their turn. If not, who is listed fourth? Same situation. Is there no faction remaining eligible? Then move on to the next card.

Ricky
4 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Parker
Australia
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Great game design makes the complex simple, replayability maximum, and abstraction credible.
badge
It’s not how well you roll that counts but how well the dice suit the game.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, yes, yes. Thanks guys.

Everyone else is in the Ineligible box now so the game moves on.

This is what you get playing a game too long into the night.

A brain fart!

I'll buy you a drink next time you're at the Camaguey Racetrack
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yoshi
Sweden
Stockholm
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Wait wait wait!

So all the cards that render a faction ineligible do so immediately?

As in, even if they are eligible and up next after the Event executing faction, the immediately go to ineligible?

I've played it so that the are moved to ineligible for the next card only and would therefore still be eligible on the current card, is this wrong you say?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Volko Ruhnke
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Immediately.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.