Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Android: Netrunner» Forums » Rules

Subject: Matrix Analyzer rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Homchuck
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
The text reads:
When the Runner encounters Matrix Analyzer, you may pay 1 [Credits] to place 1 advancement token on a card that can be advanced.

Does this cost the Corp 2 credits to play? 1 to pay to place a token and then using another token from your bank? Or does the paid token get used as the advancement token on the card of the Corps choice?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ony Moose
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There is no reason that advancement tokens and credit tokens are related; its just in the base game they share a double-sided token for convenience as you can simply flip a credit over when you advance a card. If you advance through Matrix Analyzer, you spend a credit, and take an advancement token from the bank to place on the advanced card. You can just flip over the credit token to simplify things!

If you use Shipment from Kaguya, you get to advance two cards and pay 0C. In this case you obviously have to take the 2 counters from the bank as you aren't paying anything back, its just normally the number of credits you pay = the number of advancement tokens placed and so its easy to just flip them over rather than giving credits back and then taking new advancement counters.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin
msg tools
It only costs the corp 1 credit.

The fact that the back side of credit tokens serves as advancement counters is just a matter of convenience; the corp doesn't "own" any advancement counters.

Similarly, if you were to use the ability on Astroscript, it wouldn't cost you any credits. You would just grab an advancement token from your token pool after using the agenda counter.

Ninja'd
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Homchuck
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
Ok, makes sence. Just wanted to make sure I wasn't taking advantage of the runner scum by getting what feels like a free advance click evertime he hits Matrix Analyzer

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott C
United States
Troy
OH
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Bodasafa wrote:
The text reads:
When the Runner encounters Matrix Analyzer, you may pay 1 [Credits] to place 1 advancement token on a card that can be advanced.

Does this cost the Corp 2 credits to play? 1 to pay to place a token and then using another token from your bank? Or does the paid token get used as the advancement token on the card of the Corps choice?

You don't have a bank. There is a token bank that neither the Corp nor the Runner owns. (Players may keep their tokens separate when they're not playing out of the same set, but this doesn't mean that the Runner or Corp have a bank they possess by the game's definitions)

Thus, when you pay 1 credit [to the bank] to advance a card [by taking an advancement counter from the bank and placing it on a card], you may simplify the process by utilizing the same token (since they're double-sided advancement counters and credits) that you pay to put on the card.

This can be done whether you're paying 1c via the Advance a Card action printed on your Corp action reference card, or paying 1c via Matrix Analyzer's on-encounter ability.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Doug Law
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Avatar
Bodasafa wrote:
Ok, makes sence. Just wanted to make sure I wasn't taking advantage of the runner scum by getting what feels like a free advance click evertime he hits Matrix Analyzer



There is no such thing as taking advantage of the runner scum. They are wild eyed hooligans and they get what they deserve.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.