Popular Tags: scholarly [+] [View All]
Tom Madden
United States
Saint Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, it’s true. I’m a professional historian of the Crusades. I have written several books and train Ph.D.s on the subject. I have to admit that, given that I am not much into wargames, I would not have tried this game were it not for the theme. I’m glad I did. My opponent was my nine-year-old daughter, who became enthralled with the game. She now asks to play it all the time. She knew nothing at all about the Crusades before we started playing, but throughout the first game she kept asking about various characters (she played the Crusaders) and what really happened. So, aside from being just plain fun, this game is pretty educational.

Rather than give a synopsis of rules, etc., I want to approach this review from the perspective of a Crusade historian. (For this review I am using version 1.3 of the rules.) First off, a game with the level of abstraction of a block game is never going to be a completely faithful reproduction of its subject. That said, however, I was constantly amazed at how this seemed to recreate the factors that were really at work at the time. For example, the Saracens are powerful so long as they can keep the emirs alive, but if they are eliminated, then they are just drawing low quality Turks, Arabs, and Kurds every turn. This nicely mirrors the fact that Saladin’s emirs were willing to support his jihad so long as it was both successful and reasonably short. Time was always his enemy.