Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Sam Middleton
United States
Wise
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So I am new to preordering board games, as in never having done it before. I noticed that CoolStuffInc has the game on pre-order for 32% off retail price of around $80 and I was interested in preordering the game. The questions are I suppose:

If I pay the $53.99 now do I have to pay the difference in retail at release or do I just pay the cost displayed and that is it?

How can they charge such a low price for preordering?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Campbell
United States
Falls Church
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Games are frequently sold, and available for preorder, at online retailers for significantly below retail MSRP. Since they are able to order from distributors in bulk, they pay a much lower price for their stock than your average friendly local game store. They are thus able to pass some of the savings on to you.

You do not have to pay any type of difference between the discounted price and MSRP. You simply get the game for the price you paid.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sam Middleton
United States
Wise
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
LotrScaper wrote:
Games are frequently sold, and available for preorder, at online retailers for significantly below retail MSRP. Since they are able to order from distributors in bulk, they pay a much lower price for their stock than your average friendly local game store. They are thus able to pass some of the savings on to you.

You do not have to pay any type of difference between the discounted price and MSRP. You simply get the game for the price you paid.

I appreciate the friendly reply. It's interesting. I am a video gamer converting to board gaming and it's really different how the two markets operate.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Galbraith
msg tools
mbmb