Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jonathan
United States
North Providence
RI
flag msg tools
mb
So I am very new to the game design world ( I am currently in the alpha stage of my first game[s]). Something that I am beginning to deal with is feature creep, a fairly come occurrence with new designers, I gather.

The research that I have done suggests that one of the better solutions for complexity creep is to break up the mechanics and story elements you have developed into their own games and continue on with the one that you are most interested in, or shows the most promise. Shelving the rest for another time, when they will get a proper game to shine in.

This is a philosophy that gels very well with my approach to design in general ( I went to art school and have some experience with industrial design). But I am having a tough time deciding which elements to shelve and which to keep, or if I am even at the place where I need to worry about it yet.

So I was hoping that, anyone who cares to, could maybe share some of their experiences with or stories about feature creep and how you dealt with it?

TL;DR Any good stories about dealing with feature creep?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Nyberg
Canada
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
If you have 3 games with similar features, only publish one of them!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan
United States
North Providence
RI
flag msg tools
mb
Sorry what?

The problem is not that I am working on too many games, its that I keep coming up with mechanics and ideas that I want to put into the one game I am working on. Which can lead to a game that is too slow or to complicated. and one way to deal with this is to save those Ideas for another project where it will not only be less of a hindrance but also have more of an opportunity to shine.

I was hoping to hear for other folks who had dealt with this sort of thing.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Rowse
New Zealand
Wellington