Robert Stewart
United Kingdom
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hoshi's OPG: "Once per game, if you are not in the “Brig”, Activate any three undamaged Locations, regardless of where you are. You cannot Activate the same Location more than once nor any Cylon Locations."

What happens if Hoshi is not in the Brig, activates his OPG, and, during either of the first two activations, gets sent to the Brig. Does he get the remaining activations or not?

There are a couple of ways it could happen - activating Administration to move the Presidency despite already holding a Mutiny card himself (aka being incompetent) or activating Command to launch at least one Viper which gets AVP'ed by Apollo, who either uses his action directly to Brig Hoshi, or uses it to give someone else an action which gets used to Brig Hoshi. Or, of course, Hoshi could activate Admiral's Quarters to send himself to the Brig, but that goes beyond carelessness and into deliberate silliness...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kenny Renaud
United States
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I think if he meets the requirements to activate the ability, nothing is going to stop him from getting his 3 actions (with the exception of execution?) since the ability does not require a check of non-brig status per activation.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Trigiani
United States
Blairstown
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I would think yes he can still take his remaining actions.

If he is allowed to take his remaining actions while in the brig he will probably attempt a brig escape. This may be beneficial for a cylon Hoshi with little or no suspicion to throw himself in the brig then attempt to get out just to waste cards and pass the Admiral title if he has it. He could then try to make the new Admiral look suspicious. devil The humans would think a cylon Admiral would never give up their title voluntarily.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
trigiani wrote:
If he is allowed to take his remaining actions while in the brig he will probably attempt a brig escape.


I interpret that he names the locations to activate first, then performs the activations in order. So, to name the brig check he would need to know he's going to end up in the brig, which does not sound optimal for the majority of cases.


trigiani wrote:
The humans would think a cylon Admiral would never give up their title voluntarily.


Would a human Admiral give up their title voluntarily? (Not unless the recipient is a confirmed human.)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kenneth H
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
To answer the question, I'd say he still gets to activate any locations he'd like with the rest of his OPG. This man is prepared for anything.

There's a fairly obvious method for this to happen that nobody's mentioned yet. Hoshi goes for a board skill check with his OPG while he has a mutiny card, and the right treachery card shows up. (Personal Vices/Exploit a Weakness, depending on who's turn it is.)
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Trigiani
United States
Blairstown
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Does he need to announce which 3 locations he activates before starting with his actions? Or can he announce, activate, announce, and so on?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Bussema
United States
Lansing
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
trigiani wrote:
Does he need to announce which 3 locations he activates before starting with his actions? Or can he announce, activate, announce, and so on?


The obvious precedent is basestar bridge which is "announce all first, then resolve in the order chosen." So Hoshi announces which 3 locations and in which order he will resolve them, then does that.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.