Popular Tags: [View All]
Brandon Richards
United States
Salem
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
GIPF Beginner Strategy: The Center

Although I am not an expert on the intricacies of GIPF, I have found some strategies which can increase the performance of the GIPF novice. In this article I am going to focus on just one of the strategies needed to enhance the play-level of beginners. I am far from being an expert, and I hope that this article generates debate over the strategies I employ. By using these strategies I have found that I can win consistently against the computer program GF1 on levels one and two, approximately 80% of the games played on level 3, and about 20% of the games played on level 4. Most of the person-to-person games I play are against beginning players who are just learning, so beware that these strategies will mostly affect game-play against GF1, and not games played person-to-person. Although I have found that these strategies are a good basis for all game-play.

This article is only focusing on one strategy: Control of the center. Controlling the center of the game board is a wise strategy for the beginning-, middle- and end-game. There are 37 spots (intersections) in the play area. In order to know who has the most control on the board at any given time, I have assigned point values to each of the spots on the board. The center spot, or primary spot, is worth 4 points for basic pieces. The ring of spots surrounding the center spot are each worth 3 points. The next ring of spots is worth 2 points. These two rings are composed of secondary spots. The final ring or outer ring is worth 1 point each and is composed of tertiary spots.