fangotango
Canada
Halifax
Nova Scotia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I am wondering how to interpret these two sentences from 49.3:

Quote:
Germany controls the movement and placement of Vichy forces. She may freely move units back and forth between Vichy and her colonies.


Quote:
While Vichy is neutral, Vichy fleets may perform no functions except to supply and Sea Escort Vichy units.


Does this mean that neutral Vichy naval units are not allowed to change base, or is that considered "movement" (allowed in the first sentence) rather than a "function" (which would normally be referred to as a "mission", but they use a different word her for some reason).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oh my God They Banned Kenny
Canada
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
It is again unfortunate that insufficient care was taken in the original rules writing. If "mission" had been used rather than "function", there would be no question. That is exactly how I play it.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Carter
United States
Woodbury
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
deadkenny wrote:
It is again unfortunate that insufficient care was taken in the original rules writing. If "mission" had been used rather than "function", there would be no question. That is exactly how I play it.

I agree. Since both supply and Sea Escort require the ships to sail around the sea area to perform those "functions," it would seem reasonable that they could also move (i.e. change bases) while NOT carrying supply or troops.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.