Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Axis Empires: Totaler Krieg!» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question about French / Vichy units. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alberto Natta
Italy
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmb
1- In case of Operation Otto (yes the one vs Soviets), when later France is "conquered", the new Vichy fights on with the Allies. It is not said anything about the Fleet / Convoy. Do the Vichy forces and thus Allies retain the naval unit / support marker?

2- Can French Colonial Units being built in French Dependants, with Vichy France active as Allied Minor, when no France Homeland City is in Allied control?

3- Upon France Liberation, do the UK still retain the UK Fra-Colonial unit?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Yedidia
United States
Cambridge
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Emanuel Lasker: World Chess Champion 1894-1921, and his brother Berthold in 1907.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1-- According to rule 16.1.1 in the July 15, 2013 Living rules, all French counters without a V are removed from the game and all those with a V are placed in the delay box. So look to see whether there's a V on the unit or not (one fleet has one, but one obtained from the French Military Expanded card doesn't)

2-- Fule 1.3.4 says "A French colonial unit must be placed in a city under friendly control in any French Dependent", so the answer is Yes.

3-- French Liberation (16.4.1) only happens if Vichy is a Soviet or Axis country, and it sounds like it was Western in your game, so I don't think it's relevant. But if French Liberation did happen, 16.4.1 doesn't say anything about the British Fra-Colonial unit, so nothing would happen to it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alberto Natta
Italy
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmb
The questions were through some games, not just one.
But then we played it correctly.
Just sometimes the logic part works a bit and finds some rules possibly shady from a sheer logic standpoint.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Vincent
United States
Ridgefield
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Completely different question, but it's about Vichy - might as well keep them together:

When the Axis uses a Neutrals Pressured event to take control of the Vichy fleet, how is that support unit treated moving forward? Do we treat it as a German unit, sailing from German ports, and just conveniently ignore that the Vichy fleet must have somehow skirted past Gibraltar at some point? Or does it sail from a German port on the Med, or a Vichy port, but otherwise act as an Axis unit?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Uwe A. Redjac
China
Beijing
Beijing
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
SabreRedleg wrote:
Do we treat it as a German unit, sailing from German ports, and just conveniently ignore that the Vichy fleet must have somehow skirted past Gibraltar at some point? Or does it sail from a German port on the Med, or a Vichy port, but otherwise act as an Axis unit?
Go and check "Fleet Unit Path" under 2.2.3.1 Support Unit Placement. There is a special entry for the Vichy Fleet which says.

Quote:
If the Axis faction is using a Vichy Fleet unit, any Open Port in Neutral Vichy can be a Home Country Open Port for that unit.
Don't let "can" mislead you there, because no other port can be a Home Country Port for the Vichy Fleet. The above therefore only means: The Vichy Fleet when seized is permitted (on an exceptional basis) to trace its Fleet Unit Path back to a port in Neutral Vichy France - and only to that. The exception here being: Neutral Countries are usually not valid for anything at all.

So: No skirting around Gibraltar. The seized Vichy Fleet is bottled up in the Mediterranean as much as the Italian Fleet. And it needs German bases in the Mediterranean to be placed there too.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls