J M
msg tools
I was playing Lem who has Divine as a subskill of Charisma.

As Lem , I explored and found an item whose "Check to Acquire" was

Wisdom
Divine

Can Lem use his Charisma Divine to check, or must he have a Divine that is a subskill of Wisdom?

I guess the general question is: Are an item's acquire requirements separate skills or a combination? I can use Wisdom OR Divine, or I must use Divine that is a subskill of Wisdom?

Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Stokes
New Zealand
Auckland
Auckland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can use Wisdom OR Divine. So you can roll your Divine skill as Lem, it makes no difference that it's based on Charisma instead of Wisdom.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Meyers
United States
Arkansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Wisdom or Divine. You can use divine whether it is a subset of Wisdom or Charisma.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg
United States
Lowell
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Wisdom or Divine.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fromper Fromper
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
From page 11 of the rulebook:

Quote:
“Check to Defeat” and “Check to Acquire” are followed by one or more skills; you may use any of the skills listed for your check. (For example, if a check lists Dexterity, Disable, Strength, and Melee, you may choose to use Dexterity, Disable, Strength, or Melee to attempt your check.)
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cracky McCracken
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Let's say the char has a wisdom of 1d6 and no divine listed...

He could make the wisdom check with 1d6 or roll a default divine check with 1d4. You can always use a skill you don't have to make a check by rolling 1d4. (The only check you can't try if you don't have a skill listed is recharge... remember that)
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Italy
Torino
flag msg tools
[______|_hi]
badge
[intentionally left blank]
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think this thread should be in "rules", not "general".
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
reaching out from the in-between spaces...
United States
Baldwin
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
K____ wrote:
I think this thread should be in "rules", not "general".


I think it should be put in "Reading Comprehension 101"

Jorune
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fromper Fromper
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Jorune wrote:
K____ wrote:
I think this thread should be in "rules", not "general".


I think it should be put in "Reading Comprehension 101"

Jorune

You seem to be agreeing with each other.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Liam
Scotland
flag msg tools
admin
badge
I am BGG's official honey trap
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Moved from General to Rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.