Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Speculation» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rank plus 1/Rank minus 1 rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Sir Bay

Prescott Valley
AZ
msg tools
I need a definition of rank when it applies to these tiles. Rank us one: is this moving from one color to another and the first available space? Rank minus one: is this moving one color back and a space back?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert M
United States
Greenville
South Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
from the rules wrote:
More specifically, he chooses any brick, then moves it forward on the track to the first empty space in front of the brick ranked just ahead of the one being moved. If this space is occupied by another brick, place the brick being moved on the next
free space ahead.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sir Bay

Prescott Valley
AZ
msg tools
So does minus mean the first available space going the other way?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tomello Visello
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
For players who lack their own printed copy of the rules one place to check is the FILES section of any game page. In this case you could arrive at English rules presented here:

Speculation

which say with nearly identical wording to the quote above,

The active player must lower 1 company brick by 1 rank. More specifically, he chooses any brick,then moves it backward on the track to the first empty space in back of the brick ranked just below the one being moved. If this space is occupied by another brick, place the rick being moved on the next free space behind.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Cappocchi
United States
Los Angeles
CA
flag msg tools
Arkham Horror, Amun Re, R-ECO, Ora Et Labora, Napoleonic Wars
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Since the rules explanation doesn't always translate into a clearly visualized example, imagine that the current stock prices are:
Rank 1: Black $34
Rank 2: Green $33
Rank 3: Violet$30
Rank 4: Red $25
Rank 5: Orange $23
Rank 6: Brown $19
Rank 7: Pink $18
Rank 8: Grey $16


You are the current player, and you roll "Rank+1". You own lots of Red stock and want to increase its value, so you move Red up one rank, it is now 3rd, and the new prices are:
Rank 1: Black $34
Rank 2: Green $33
Rank 3: Red $31
Rank 4: Violet$30
Rank 5: Orange $23
Rank 6: Brown $19
Rank 7: Pink $18
Rank 8: Grey $16


Even better is when some tightly clustered stocks result in "Rank+1" (or "Rank-1" if you want to punish a a stock your opponents hold!) actually moving your stock 2, 3, or more ranks because that's where the next available price spot is! If the current prices are:
Rank 1: Black $34
Rank 2: Green $33
Rank 3: Violet$32
Rank 4: Red $24
Rank 5: Orange $23
Rank 6: Brown $19
Rank 7: Pink $18
Rank 8: Grey $16


And again you choose to move Red up one Rank, the next available spot in front of Violet is $35, and Red vaults from 4th to first! The new prices are:

Rank 1: Red $35
Rank 2: Black $34
Rank 3: Green $33
Rank 4: Violet$32
Rank 5: Orange $23
Rank 6: Brown $19
Rank 7: Pink $18
Rank 8: Grey $16


(Disclaimer: Stock colors probably don't match any published or imaginary version of the game, they are just what I typed in the color-selector).


1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Kovatch
United States
Pleasanton
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
agentzen wrote:
Since the rules explanation doesn't always translate into a clearly visualized example...

You nailed this perfectly!

However, I will say in the OP's defense, that when we played this today we first moved the brick exactly as he described it. It didn't make a lot of sense that you would do it that way, though, so after reading more carefully we realized the brick was moved as described in this example.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tomello Visello
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
agentzen wrote:
Since the rules explanation doesn't always translate into a clearly visualized example,...
That would be why the printed rules include an illustration for the +1, along with an explanation of the specific situation shown by the illustration.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.