Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

1880: China» Forums » Rules

Subject: Floating of share Companies rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: 18xx [+] 1880 [+] [View All]
marc magner
United States
webster
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Per the rules

Inauguration of a Share Company
- As soon as the Director's Certificate is bought, the purchaser sets the initial share price of the
company. The company's marker is placed on the corresponding one of the four possible choices
on the turn order list (at the left-hand edge of the board).
- As soon as the Director owns the qualifying number of shares at the end of a Share Round, the
company becomes operational and its home station is placed, free of charge, on the space
designated for it on the map. A further marker is placed on the appropriate starting place on the
Share Price Chart.
 In Phase A1 (beginning of the game) the qualifying number of shares is 20%.
 In Phase B1 (first 3-train is bought) the qualifying number of shares is 30%.
 In Phase B3 (first 4-train is bought) the qualifying number of shares is 40%.
 In Phase C2 (first 6-train is bought) the qualifying number of shares is 60%.


Is this another translation error or does the director need to own these percentages....

and if so can other players conspire to prevent a share company from floating?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Berry
Scotland
Edinburgh
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
No, it's not a translation error; the director needs to own that number of shares.

No, other players cannot prevent the company from floating, because the rules go on to say:

If at the end of a Share Round there are no shares available in a company, it opens, irrespective of whether the Director owns the qualifying number of shares.

This means that if the other players buy all the remaining shares in order to prevent the director owning the requisite number needed to start the company, the company will start anyway.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
marc magner
United States
webster
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
daveberry wrote:
No, it's not a translation error; the director needs to own that number of shares.

No, other players cannot prevent the company from floating, because the rules go on to say:

If at the end of a Share Round there are no shares available in a company, it opens, irrespective of whether the Director owns the qualifying number of shares.

This means that if the other players buy all the remaining shares in order to prevent the director owning the requisite number needed to start the company, the company will start anyway.


thanks dave

new i was missing something.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.