Recommend
11 
 Thumb up
 Hide
24 Posts

Caverna: The Cave Farmers» Forums » Rules

Subject: Beer parlor question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Marijke
Belgium
Leuven
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi guys,

My boyfriend and I are having a bit of a rules dispute, and we're hoping you can help out!

The "beer parlor" furnishing tile allows you to "at any time before scoring" exchange 2 grain for 3 gold. It doesn't say how often you can use this. I reasoned that since it says "at any time" you can use it as often as you want. My boyfriend thinks it's once per round.

How do you use this tile? As often as you want? Once per round? Once per game?

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jared Martin
United States
Converse
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I understood it as being able to use as often as you want before scoring.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grzegorz Kobiela
Germany
Hanover
Lower Saxony
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Editor at Lookout Games
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can use it as often as you wish.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marijke
Belgium
Leuven
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you for giving me such a speedy answer.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grzegorz Kobiela
Germany
Hanover
Lower Saxony
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Editor at Lookout Games
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Always

Hope you have fun with the game!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marijke
Belgium
Leuven
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ponton wrote:
Always

Hope you have fun with the game!


I will! Not having to argue about the rules will increase the fun even more, I'm sure.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hans Christian Kirketerp
Denmark
Aarhus C
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Another Beer Parlor question: Are you allowed to trade the grain still on your fields at the end of the game?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grzegorz Kobiela
Germany
Hanover
Lower Saxony
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Editor at Lookout Games
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Aratar wrote:
Another Beer Parlor question: Are you allowed to trade the grain still on your fields at the end of the game?


No.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hans Christian Kirketerp
Denmark
Aarhus C
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the quick reply!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marcus Boyce
United Kingdom
Derby
Derbyshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Aratar wrote:
Another Beer Parlor question: Are you allowed to trade the grain still on your fields at the end of the game?


Nothing but scoring happens at the end of the game (the scoring phase)

The Beer Parlour is a very good room to have. Plus dwarves without beer aren't happy dwarves.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Soderlund
United States
Dallas
TX
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
lordsplodge wrote:
Aratar wrote:
Another Beer Parlor question: Are you allowed to trade the grain still on your fields at the end of the game?


Nothing but scoring happens at the end of the game (the scoring phase)


The confusion comes from the appendix. For Beer Parlor it says "You may use the Beer parlor even after the final harvest time." I am not sure why it would say that unless it meant that you can score the grains on your field. The appendix should clearly state that only grains in your supply and not on your fields at the end of the game can be converted to points (although the card would be way overpowered if it let you count the grains on your fields, so I suspected this was the right answer).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grzegorz Kobiela
Germany
Hanover
Lower Saxony
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Editor at Lookout Games
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can't use grain on fields with the beer parlor, ever. Even after the game is over, you do not remove the grain from your fields. It does count towards your score, but it is still unharvested. You are right, the rule book is missing a phrase saying you cannot use unharvested resources. I guess we assumed something like this is self-explanatory and does not need any further explanation. After all, this is a thematic game.

(But again, I agree with everyone complaining we forgot this. It's not our job to imply stuff.)
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Soderlund
United States
Dallas
TX
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I wasn't trying to be critical of the folks who wrote the rulebook. I just think the confusion wasn't entirely unreasonable because of the line in the appendix. It probably seemed obvious to the folks who designed the game and wrote the rulebook.

I am loving this game. I played it at BGG Con last November and had to wait until this month to get my copy. It was a long wait, but well worth it. The solo game is kicking my ass after three plays. But I vow to play on!

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ward Batty
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
Does the same apply to wheat and vegetables with the Food Chamber? Thanks.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Cobb
United States
Alpharetta
Georgia
flag msg tools
visit rollordont.com for a free computer game with a challenging AI player!
badge
visit rollordont.com for a free computer game with a challenging AI player!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Wardo wrote:
Does the same apply to wheat and vegetables with the Food Chamber? Thanks.


Not according to the Appendix...I guess because you aren't actually converting it for the Food Chamber, just getting bonus points for having it, whereas the Beer Parlor has you converting wheat that is in your supply.

Here's the discussion of the Food Chamber:

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/15671371#15671371

Jim
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ward Batty
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
That does not make logical sense to me. It sounds like they are trying to fix an unbalanced building, but if one rule applies to the Beer Parlor then the same rule should apply to the Food Chamber.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Cobb
United States
Alpharetta
Georgia
flag msg tools
visit rollordont.com for a free computer game with a challenging AI player!
badge
visit rollordont.com for a free computer game with a challenging AI player!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, the Beer Parlor only lets you convert wheat that's IN YOUR SUPPLY. If they're still on your fields at the end of the game, they're not in your supply.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Smith
United Kingdom
Ventnor
Isle of Wight
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Not to mention that the Beer Parlour can be used in the middle of the game to make food, so it's a very different building to the Food Chamber which only affects the end game scoring.

The "even after final harvest" line I think is there to help people who may otherwise think that you can only do the conversion on your turn or something like that.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ward Batty
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
Still hoping to hear from Grzegorz Kobiela about this.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grzegorz Kobiela
Germany
Hanover
Lower Saxony
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Editor at Lookout Games
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Wardo wrote:
Still hoping to hear from Grzegorz Kobiela about this.


Sure, what exactly would you like to know? At a quick glance, I didn't see any unanswered questions here.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ward Batty
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
Ponton wrote:
Wardo wrote:
Still hoping to hear from Grzegorz Kobiela about this.


Sure, what exactly would you like to know? At a quick glance, I didn't see any unanswered questions here.


I'm looking for confirmation that the unharvested wheat at the end of the game does not apply to the Beer Parlor but the unharvested wheat and veg do count for the food chamber.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grzegorz Kobiela
Germany
Hanover
Lower Saxony
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Editor at Lookout Games
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Confirmed. Beer Parlor provides a trade action, so you need actual resources to use the action.

Food Chamber just provides points for stuff that belongs to you. That's why it does count unharvested stuff.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ward Batty
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
Thanks, I appreciate your response. Happy New Year!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mario Fistanic
msg tools
beer parlor is very powerful cavern
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.