Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Nexus Ops» Forums » Rules

Subject: Playing Frenzy + Outflank rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mário Medeiros
Brazil
Petrópolis
Rio de Janeiro
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Consider a contested Hex with 2 blue humans against 4 yellow humans.

I'm the blue player, its my turn, battle phase.

The battle begins in that Hex, and I play two battle energize cards: I play Outflank, and choose two humans to get the bonus. Then I play Frenzy.

My friend (yellow) rolled a bunch of random numbers between 1 and 5 (no hit).
I rolled 4, 4, 4, 5

The question:

Does both dice from each of my humans get the +2 bonus from outflank? The card says "+2 to each unit's attack die".

I consider that the outflank gives the unit +2, for all dice it rolls.
My friend considered that outflank gives +2 for one die of each of the two units.

In my consideration, I'd have killed all his four humans.
In his consideration, I'd have killed only two.

Which is right??
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mar hawkman
msg tools
For all have sinned and fallen short of the glory
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'd rule that it give +2 to both die.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
King of the Dead
United States
Los Angeles
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You're not posting the very important next word in your quote of Outflank.

The full text follows:

Quote:
Choose up to 2 units in the same space. Add +2 to each those unit's die rolls this battle.

PLAY BEFORE DICE ARE ROLLED FOR THE CHOSEN UNITS.


Emphasis is mine.

Cleary, you would apply +2 to any number of rolls made by those two figures.

Your friend is interpreting these cards incorrectly.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cadu
Brazil
São Gonçalo
Rio de Janeiro
flag msg tools
badge
Spectreman fan!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Did you both apply the "Frenzy" card effect? For some reason, reading your post, seems to me that it was applied just to blue player.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mar hawkman
msg tools
For all have sinned and fallen short of the glory
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
how does that change things? AFAIK all it does is change the number of die rolled per unit.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Harris
United Kingdom
Sutton
Surrey
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
marhawkman wrote:
how does that change things? AFAIK all it does is change the number of die rolled per unit.

That's 2 dice per unit on both sides of the battle i.e. the player with 4 humans gets 8 dice! I haven't done the maths but at a rough estimate I'd say there's a better than even chance of the other side getting wiped out with 2 6's amongst that lot!

Simon
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mário Medeiros
Brazil
Petrópolis
Rio de Janeiro
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Cadu Carioca wrote:
Did you both apply the "Frenzy" card effect? For some reason, reading your post, seems to me that it was applied just to blue player.


Sure, yellow player rolled 8 dice. In original post I wrote "My friend (yellow) rolled a bunch of random numbers between 1 and 5 (no hit)." He rolled 8 dice, but no hits (bad roll, I know).

Thanks for answering, and now by reading the texts again, I'm pretty sure I was right! arrrh
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mar hawkman
msg tools
For all have sinned and fallen short of the glory
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
yeah, unless they say otherwise, all combat bonuses stack in this game.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.