Nick Bentley
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb

So I'm still studying the board games industry and one thing that sticks out is it's hard for publishers to avoid publishing duds. So I've been thinking about dud-avoidance measures, and decided to write about some of my less-stupid ideas (note "less-stupid" is a relative term). Enjoy (or at least happily ignore).

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darrell Hanning
United States
Jacksonville
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
We will meet at the Hour of Scampering.
mbmbmbmbmb
I spell it "convention" in general, and "Essen", specifically.

Didn't read your article. Don't know about abstracts, but for the other 90% of the boardgame market, it has to do with what has been successful of late (such as worker placement in Euros, CDGs in wargames, etc.), and how players at conventions react to the prototype.

Then there's the "P500" concept, such as with GMT (which is really just an offshoot of SPI's Strategy & Tactics magazine "Feedback" section and cards), where potential buyers essentially "vote" with commitment to purchase, before a game gets approved for printing.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Salim Khoury
United States
Houston
TX
flag msg tools
Give Grace, Always.
badge
Whatever the mind of man can conceive and believe, it can achieve.
mbmbmbmbmb
milomilo122 wrote:

So I'm still studying the board games industry and one thing that sticks out is it's hard for publishers to avoid publishing duds. So I've been thinking about dud-avoidance measures, and decided to write about some of my less-stupid ideas (note "less-stupid" is a relative term). Enjoy (or at least happily ignore).

You mean other than Kickstarter? Kickstarter is the ultimate answer to gauging demand...

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmb
Salimo wrote: