Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
16 Posts

Star Wars: X-Wing Miniatures Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: do you have to move? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
jeff hendrickson
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
do you have to move?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Brown
United States
Fort Wayne
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
There is no reason to have two A's at the beginning of aardvark. I simply won't do it.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, only the shuttle has a zero move.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Side Sweep
msg tools
Yes, you HAVE to select a maneuver from one available on the dial (unless inoned - in which case you are automatically assigned a 1 straight).

This said, lambda is the only ship, that has a 0 maneuver - and can therefore stay at the same place (if aplicable).

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
DB Draft
New Zealand
flag msg tools
A zero move is still a move.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David A.
msg tools
mb
Apparently the Lambda breaks the rules, because there is no "0" movement template. Did they mention something about this in the Lambda rules?

"Set Template: Take the maneuver template
that matches the chosen maneuver on the dial
and slide the template between the front guides
of the ship’s base (the two small bumps).
Insert it so that the end of the template is flush
against the base. " (pg. 7)

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Dickson
United States
Orlando
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"Unlike other maneuvers on the dial, the 0 maneuver does not have a corresponding maneuver template. To execute the 0 maneuver, the Imperial player leaves the shuttle where it is, keeping its position and facing unchanged."
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David A.
msg tools
mb
Phew! We're safe!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Dickson
United States
Orlando
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh, there were people insisting that the 0 maneuver should still move the shuttle the length of its base, even once the rules came out.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adrian Breuch
Germany
Kettig
Rheinland-Pfalz
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
DailyRich wrote:
Oh, there were people insisting that the 0 maneuver should still move the shuttle the length of its base, even once the rules came out.

So the 0-Speed Template for medium ships... must look like a looping, but it ends just exact 1 medium ship base length behind where it started.
That would also explain why it's a red maneuver.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Henrik Backlund
Sweden
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
The explanation why it's a red move is simple. If your ship was standing still in the middle of a dogfight, you'd be stressed too!
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Davyd A
Canada
Edmonton
Alberta
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Zyankalium wrote:
DailyRich wrote:
Oh, there were people insisting that the 0 maneuver should still move the shuttle the length of its base, even once the rules came out.

So the 0-Speed Template for medium ships... must look like a looping, but it ends just exact 1 medium ship base length behind where it started.
That would also explain why it's a red maneuver.


I certain the Lambda has the speed 0 move because in Return of the Jedi, both Tyderium and ST-321 come to a more-or-less complete halt as they approach the Death Star. Personally, I visualise it as being a forward move too small to measure on the game board.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig Allen
United States
Kentucky
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can always concede the game....before you move.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Firstname Lastname
Singapore
flag msg tools
Vagabond Elf wrote:
Personally, I visualise it as being a forward move too small to measure on the game board.


or a very steep climb / dive
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reckless Fable
United States
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hit the breaks; he'll fly right by!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Firstname Lastname
Singapore
flag msg tools
you can be my wingman anytime
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reckless Fable
United States
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
B*******; you can be mine!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.