Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

High Frontier» Forums » Rules

Subject: Dirt rockets and lander fuel penalties rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Harris Enniss
United States
Goleta
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Can a dirt rocket refuel with regolith, then use that fuel to pay the lander fuel penalty?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adrian Hague
United Kingdom
Bristol
Bristol
flag msg tools
badge
RAWKET LAWNCHA!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
henniss wrote:
Can a dirt rocket refuel with regolith, then use that fuel to pay the lander fuel penalty?

Good question!

I can't find anything in Legacy or Colonisation that explicitly forbids this, so I'd say yes.

Remember that with if you have a rocket with a regolith refuel thruster and a non-regolith (i.e. water-propelled) thruster, the WT-propelled thruster cannot be used if the last refuel operation was a regolith refuel (17.0 D, Colonisation)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
chuck dunn
United States
Memphis
Tennessee
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
regolith is fuel so yes works fine as steps towards penalty... and regolith is also a cool word and sounds like it would be good on pasta...
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adrian Hague
United Kingdom
Bristol
Bristol
flag msg tools
badge
RAWKET LAWNCHA!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Wasn't there a ruling floating around somewhere that regolith-fuel cannot be converted back into WT's?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle
United States
Up Nort' Der
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
VAST: The...
badge
We must move forward, not backward, upward, not forward, and always twirling, twirling, twirling towards freedom!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
AdrianPHague wrote:
Wasn't there a ruling floating around somewhere that regolith-fuel cannot be converted back into WT's?
Correct - it's in the Colonization rulebook.

A good analogy for the water/dirt conversion:

Add a drop of fine wine to raw sewage and you get raw sewage.
Add a drop of raw sewage to fine wine and you get raw sewage.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Björn Hansson
Sweden
Bromma
Stockholm
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
AdrianPHague wrote:
Wasn't there a ruling floating around somewhere that regolith-fuel cannot be converted back into WT's?


Landing penalty yes, convert to water no.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Vincent
United States
Ridgefield
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Woelf wrote:
AdrianPHague wrote:
Wasn't there a ruling floating around somewhere that regolith-fuel cannot be converted back into WT's?
Correct - it's in the Colonization rulebook.


Note that in the basic and legacy rules there's no restriction on converting dirt (in your fuel tanks) to water (tanks). This is unrealistic, but I believe the rules were written this way to avoid having to track multiple fuel types. Colonization needed to change this because bernals can all regality refuel, and that could inject a lot of WT into the game. Best to verify what rules changes you might be using from Colonization before beginning a basic or legacy game.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bernhard Vierthaler
Austria
Salzburg
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can I use dirt an when all the fuel is used up water again? In other words: after emptying all the dirt fuel is the engine "clean" again?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Chamberlain
United States
Tracy
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That isn't the best way to think of it, but yes.

The best way to think of it is that your active thruster determines the fuel type. If your active thruster is a dirt thruster, any water added converts to dirt. If your active thruster is a water thruster, any water added is water, and dirt cannot be added. If your active thruster switched from water to dirt, all existing fuel becomes dirt. If your active thruster switches from a dirt thruster to a water thruster, any existing fuel is lost.

Note the rules require only one fuel type be in the rocket at a time because the game's rocket diagram is not able to handle towing of the fuel that your rocket is not presently using. You can easily jettison the unused fuel to an outpost before switching thrusters to avoid fuel converting or being lost using the fungible fuel optional rule. But the rules provide no way for a rocket to carry multiple fuel types, which is why water ends up converting to dirt if you add water to a dirt thruster.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.