Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Wildcatters» Forums » Rules

Subject: Clarifying the Game Sequence rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ben
United States
Ann Arbor
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In our first play, we ran into a small issue in the English rule book regarding the game sequence. I would like to make sure we play correctly next time.

At the beginning of the section titled Game Sequence, the rules state:
Quote:
Each turn every player, beginning with the active player, executes the following moves:

It then lists 8 moves, labeled A-H.


At the end of the section describing move F, however, the rules state (in bold):
Quote:
End of the player turn.


The book then goes on to describe moves G and H. As the second part of move H, the rules state:
Quote:
Move the black cube 1 spot on the round counter.



We found the above rules very confusing (and potentially contradictory). Please let me know if the following are correct.

1. The game lasts 7 or 8 rounds.
2. Each round, all players will execute moves A-H.
3. Player 1 executes all moves A-H first. Then player 2 executes A-H. Then Player 3 executes A-H. Etc.
4. The black cube moves 1 spot on the round counter only after all players have executed A-H in order.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tiago Nunes
Portugal
Odivelas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The sequence you describe is the correct one (at least as I have interpreted it from the rules.)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rolf Sagel
Netherlands
flag msg tools
publisher
Hey Ben,

In his or her turn a player indeed executes moves A-H.

Actions A-F are actions which are done by the action player.
After these actions his or her turn is indeed over. (End of the player turn)


Action G and H must be taken, but they are not typical for the action player. Which is why we say: 'End of the player turn'.

Action G: All full refineries will automatically supply to the continent. (not yours alone)

Action H: At the and of the last players turn the black cube will move 1 spot.
(In the rules it is indeed not correct, we discovered that about a week ago)

Best regards,
Rolf

5 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thibaut Palfer-Sollier
Norway
Oslo
Oslo
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I find your answer confusing Rolf.

Are you saying that the right sequence is (4-player game) :
1) 1st player plays A to F
2) G action happens (all players)
3) 2nd player plays A to F
4) G action happens (all players)
5) 3rd player plays A to F
6) G action happens (all players)
7) 4th player plays A to F
8) G action happens (all players)
9) H action happens, end of turn

Or is it like Ben is saying :
1) 1st player plays A to F
2) 2nd player plays A to F
3) 3rd player plays A to F
4) 4th player plays A to F
5) G action happens (all players)
6) H action happens, end of turn

Which one? Or another one?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben
United States
Ann Arbor
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. First player does A-F.
2. Then G happens.
3. Then H happens (but the cube does not move).
4. Second player does A-F.
5. Then G happens.
6. Then H happens (but the cube does not move).
Etc.

After all players have had a turn, the black cube moves.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thibaut Palfer-Sollier
Norway
Oslo
Oslo
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh, ok, thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Don D.
United States
Miami
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Very confusing aspect of the rule book, thanks for asking this question, Ben. We could not have proceeded with playing the game without this thread.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.