Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Advanced Squad Leader» Forums » Rules

Subject: Missing Rules for CH extension Panther Line rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Federico Strazzari
Italy
Bologna
BO
flag msg tools
Hi everyone,
I just bought ASL Comp Panther Line from Critical Hit.
I noticed that Slope Hexsides rule are required (Rules O2, P3). I really don't have any idea of what these rules are and where to find them. Anybody can help me?
Thanks, really!!!!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eoin Corrigan
Ireland
Wexford
Wexford
flag msg tools
designer
ASL Fanatic
badge
Royal Dublin Fusiliers "Spectamur Agendo"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe the slope rules were originally found in Kampfgruppe Pieper and Pagasus Bridge.

They are not a part of the standard 2nd Ed rules set.

These may help:

http://www.desperationmorale.com/slopes.pdf

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/672113/slopes-step-by-st...

For a workaround, you could consider buying BFP's Crucible of Steel, which has an excellent article on how slopes function.

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Federico Strazzari
Italy
Bologna
BO
flag msg tools
Thanks for the info, Eoin.
Crucible of Steel has been on my Wishlist for some time now... if I had 48 hours a day at my disposal, I'd succeed to play everything I got in less than 10 years...!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eoin Corrigan
Ireland
Wexford
Wexford
flag msg tools
designer
ASL Fanatic
badge
Royal Dublin Fusiliers "Spectamur Agendo"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
federicost wrote:
If I had 48 hours a day at my disposal, I'd succeed to play everything I got in less than 10 years...!


A common complaint among ASL players
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Vicca
msg tools
mbmbmbmb

3.1 A slope hexside5 represents an undulation in the terrain substantial enough to give an Up-Slope (3.2) unit a LOS advantage. On the PB map a slope hexside is represented by brown hash-marks along that hexside (EX: PBK5-L5). The entire hexside (inclusive of vertices) marked by a slope, but not the slope artwork itself, is considered part of that slope hexside.


3.2 UP-SLOPE/DOWN-SLOPE: A Location whose hex contains one slope hexside is either Up-Slope or Down-Slope to LOS drawn across that hexside to or from that hex. If the slope lines are in the Location's hex, the Location is defined as being Down-Slope across that hexside; if the lines are in an adjacent hex along the hexside common to both hexes, the Location is Up-Slope across that hexside. A Location can be both Up- and Down-Slope across two different slope hexsides.


3.3 LOS: Slopes are neither obstacles nor Hindrances.6 Being Up-Slope affects LOS only in that an Up-Slope Location is treated as being ¾ of a level higher than normal to LOS that begins or ends in that Location and crosses an Up-Slope hexside of that Location. Thus, barring other obstructions to LOS, an Up-Slope unit - even if not in a hill Crest-line hex - can trace a LOS across an Up-Slope hexside of its hex to a lower elevation (i.e., across a hill Crest Line) and/or over (B.4) obstacles and Hindrances whose topmost obstacle/Hindrance height is < the Up-Slope elevation of the viewing unit [EXC: entrenched LOS restrictions would still apply as per B9.21, as would wall/hedge TEM as per B9.31. Otherwise, being Up-Slope or Down-Slope itself has no effect on LOS (e.g., slopes are ignored if the LOS goes through their hex or along their hexside, and also when calculating an A6.41-.43 increase or decrease in the number of Blind Hexes caused by an intervening obstacle). Being Up-Slope itself can neither grant HA nor allow an Up-Slope unit to make a HD attempt. The presence of one slope hexside does not change the elevation of that hex's Base Level.


3.31 FIRE LANE: For the purposes of Fire Lane LOS/LOF drawn across one slope hexside, assume that the term "same-level" means "same-Base-Level". See also 3.42 and its example.


3.4 COVER: A slope can, in certain instances, provide a +TEM (3.41) or a +DRM (3.42).


3.41 DIRECT-FIRE TEM: Ground-level Infantry in a hex containing three (or two non-contiguous) Down-Slope hexsides may claim a +1 slope DRM vs Direct Fire [EXC: FT], provided the attack originates from a non-adjacent firer whose elevation advantage (if any) over that of the target is < the range of the attack and the attacker's LOS crosses one of the target hex's Down-Slope hexsides. (A.5 applies to a FG attack.) Slope TEM is Cumulative with no other +TEM [EXC: Mud/Deep-Snow TEM]). Being Up-Slope itself provides no TEM, does not negate the FFMO/FFNAM DRM, and does not affect Wall Advantage rules.


EX: See the 3.3 illustration, and assume the following attcks are Small Arms, Squad E can claim slope TEM if fired on by squad A or D, but not if fired on by squad B (whose LOS does not cross a Down-Slope hexside of DD13). Likewise, squad C could fire on adjacent squad E with no slope TEM and could claim the -1 FFM0 if otherwise applicable as could squad B. If squad E is fired on by squads C and D as a FG, squad E can claim slope TEM (A.5).


3.42 FIRE-LANE DRM: Infantry being attacked by a Fire Lane receives a +1 Fire Lane slope DRM if the firer is Up-Slope from, ¾ of a level higher than, and not adjacent to, that target [EXC: if the Infantry is attacked by a Fire Lane Snap Shot (A9.221), the DRM applies only if these three conditions apply to each of the two hexes that form the Snap Shot hexside, as determined by the firer's separate LOS to each of them]. An Up-Slope attacker's Fire Lane cannot affect a target that lies at a different Base Level (see 3.3) from that of the attacker.


EX: See the 3.3 illustration, and assume tha squads A and D each have it MG. If squad D places a Fire Lane counter in hex CC12, all moving Infantry in DD14, DD13, CC133, and CC12 (or EE14, DD13, DD12, and CC12; A9.221) can be attacked by that Fire Lane with no slope DRM (since squad D is not Up-Slope from any of those Locations), although Infantry moving in DD13 would get the slope TEM (3.41). If squad A places a Fire Lane counter in EE15, all moving Infantry in CC13 (or DD12) can be attacked by that Fire Lane with no slope DRM (since those hexes are adjacent to the firer) but moving Infantry in DD14 and EE15 would receive the slope DRM, while moving Infantry in DD13 would receive both the slope DRM and slope TEM (3.41). Moving Infantry in EE14 (assuming there is a LOS) would not receive the Slope DRM because CC12 is not Up-Slope to FF14, nor (for the same reason) would the slope DRM apply to lnfantry attacked by a Fire Lane Snap Shot at hexside DD14-EE14.


3.5 ENTRY: A unit crossing if slope hexside that it is Down-Slope from is moving Up-Slope. A unit crossing a slope hexside that it is Up-Slope from is moving Down-Slope.


3.51 MF COST/BOsNUS: Infantry/Cavalry (or a Wagon) must expend ½ MF + COT in order to move Up-Slope. Infantry on skis would receive a ½-MF bonus for each Down-Slope hexside they cross (cumulative with any bonus received for moving to a lower elevation). Crossing a slope hexside while moving on a road does not negate the B3.4 MF road bonus.


EX: See the 3.3 illustration. Squad D must pay 2 ½ MF to enter hex EE14 (2 [COT] + ½ [moving Up-Slope] = 2 ½); if it were also crossing a Crest Line up to Level 2 the cost would be 4 ½ MF (2 [COT] x 2 [ascending across a Crest Line] + ½ [moving Up-Slope] = 4 ½). Squad C could expend 1 MF to enter DD14, since there is no additional cost to move Down-Slope. If, however, if had Rained (E3.54) or there were Ground Snow (E3.723), squad C would expend 2 MF to enter DD14 (3.54).


3.52 MP COST: A unit that expends MP must pay one MP + COT in order to move Up-Slope.


3.53 CREST-LINE SLOPE: No vehicle (or charging cavalry) may cross a combination Crest-line-slope hexside (EX:B16-B17) 7.


3.54 RAIN/SNOW: When crossing a slope hexside, E3.54 (or E3.723), if otherwise in effect, applies just as if the moving unit is changing elevation (in addition to any application of that rule due to crossing a Crest line).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Federico Strazzari
Italy
Bologna
BO
flag msg tools
That's great, Martin! thanks a lot!... just one thing missing: illustration 3.3! (hey, just kidding!!!)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.