Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Hornet Leader: Carrier Air Operations» Forums » Rules

Subject: First Campaign Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Edward
United States
Hampton
NE
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Page one of S McDougall's "Flatten the Learning Curve Rules Summary" under Select Pilots states:

"Short Campaign: 1 Newbie, 2 Green, 4 Average, 1 Skilled"
while also saying:

"cumulative cost of Aircraft must not exceed the starting SO
allocation (+/- SO "Cost" of each aircraft is shown along LS side of card)"

Question:
I'm running a Marine campaign (short) for Iraq 1991 (which allows me a total of 22 SO's) and can only fly AV-88 Harrier II's. According to the narrative on the left side of the card the SO cost for each is 4. 4x8 pilots equals 32 ~ which takes me over the 22 allotted SO points.

However, page 17 (under AV-8B Harrier II/ Special Rules) states: "You gain 4,8, or 12 Special Option points for each AV-8B you select for a Short, Medium, or Long Campaign."

So, how is the math done here?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Ainsworth
United Kingdom
Manchester
Lancashire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
On the left of the Harrier card where it says (4,8,12) that isn't the cost of SO, it's the SO modifier. On aircraft that are better than the Hornet the SO modifier will be a negative - for example the Lightning will show (-3,-6,-9) showing that in a short campaign you would reduce your SO by 3 for taking this plane.

With 8 Harriers you would add 32 SO to your starting SO of 22.
7 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Edward
United States
Hampton
NE
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Thanks David!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Edward
United States
Hampton
NE
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Campaign Result: Dismal
LOL ~ I've got a ways to go. Can't wait to try it again.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will H.
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I played my first game this week as well. I decided to go Navy so I didn't run into the SO problem, but my outcome was not good, either.

Had a lot of fun though and looking forward to playing it again.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.