Dian Kosztolanyi
msg tools
To acquire (for example) CAPE OF ESCAPE it says " check to aqcuire DEXTERITY STEALTH 8 "

my question: If I dont have stealth skill but I have high dexterity with VALEROS ...do I roll with 1d8 or 1d4 ?

thanks for answer
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Buetow
United States
McHenry
Illinois
flag msg tools
Combat Commander Archivist
badge
Move! Advance! Fire! Rout! Recover! Artillery Denied! Artillery Request! Command Confusion...say what?!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
fogal wrote:
To acquire (for example) CAPE OF ESCAPE it says " check to aqcuire DEXTERITY STEALTH 8 "

my question: If I dont have stealth skill but I have high dexterity with VALEROS ...do I roll with 1d8 or 1d4 ?

thanks for answer


It's one or the other. So in your case, use Dexterity.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tor Sverre Lund
Norway
Trondheim
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
fogal wrote:
To acquire (for example) CAPE OF ESCAPE it says " check to aqcuire DEXTERITY STEALTH 8 "

my question: If I dont have stealth skill but I have high dexterity with VALEROS ...do I roll with 1d8 or 1d4 ?

thanks for answer

You always choose ONE of the listed skills. If you don't have ANY of them, you can roll a d4 (and add blessings etc to still have a shot).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Liam
Scotland
flag msg tools
admin
badge
I am BGG's official honey trap
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Moved from General to Rules.

This way other users will be able to find your question in the future.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
D P
United States
Tennessee
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Keep in mind that there may be an instance where you'll want to choose a skill you don't have (and roll 1d4) because you may have a card that boosts a check of that skill.

If you have "A" but not "B" in an "A or B" check, and your "A" is 1d8, for example, but you have a card that adds 1d10 to a "B" check, then you may choose to do "B" instead, since it overall has better odds but uses a card.

"A": 1d8
"B": 1d4+1d10
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmb
firedale2002 wrote:
Keep in mind that there may be an instance where you'll want to choose a skill you don't have (and roll 1d4) because you may have a card that boosts a check of that skill.


Or that grants an automatic success with that skill.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.