Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Navajo Wars» Forums » Rules

Subject: Die roll of extra MP for moving away from a fort. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andy Latto
United States
Foxboro
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
If a family starts its activation in an Area with a Fort, it adds one die to the MP to move away.

If you roll the die, and the total cost ends up being more than the number of MP you have, what happens? Are all your MP's wasted, or can you do something else with them? If the latter, can you do something else that takes all MPs, like a tribal council?

Suppose you roll a large number, but have enough MPs to move away. Can you decide that now that you see the number, you won't move away, because you'd rather do something else this turn, and hope to move away more cheaply on a future turn?

Since the die roll penalty only applies if the family has not used any MPs, that means it may be easier to first Raid the fort, or even Raid New Mexico if it is nearby, and then move away, rather than moving away immediately. Is this correct?

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Toppen
United States
Gallup
New Mexico
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Preorder Navajo Wars by GMT Games
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
If you roll the die, and the total cost ends up being more than the number of MP you have, what happens? Are all your MP's wasted, or can you do something else with them? If the latter, can you do something else that takes all MPs, like a tribal council?


The MPs are wasted and you're still stuck there. Forts suck.

Quote:
Suppose you roll a large number, but have enough MPs to move away. Can you decide that now that you see the number, you won't move away, because you'd rather do something else this turn, and hope to move away more cheaply on a future turn?


Nope. Once you roll the dice you're committed. And if it's too high, well, you should have used a Blessing Way. Don't have one? Well that's what Trade Goods re-rolls are for. Don't have those? (I never seem to when I need them...) Well, too bad. devil

Quote:
Since the die roll penalty only applies if the family has not used any MPs, that means it may be easier to first Raid the fort, or even Raid New Mexico if it is nearby, and then move away, rather than moving away immediately. Is this correct?


Sure, if you can kill a Fort that is HUGELY good. BUT, that's not always doable. If you Raid New Mexico and your Ferocity goes up and you have to end your action stacked with the Fort, the Family disbands. Whether or not this is "correct" strategy is impossible to say as it is highly dependent on current game circumstances. Sometimes it may be a good thing for the family to disband so you can reconstitute it on your next play with Passage of Time.



-Joel
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.