Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Outpost» Forums » Rules

Subject: pg 7 example incorrect? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Donald Walsh
United States
Columbia
Maryland
flag msg tools
I buy science fiction/fantasy book collections in MD/DC/VA. GeekMail me.
badge
I buy science fiction/fantasy book collections in MD/DC/VA. GeekMail me.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In the rules file posted here on BGG (with the disclaimer that it was noted something like 99% final, with one typo):

On page 7, the first example, should the d4 have been re-rolled, instead of using next lowest?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Jones
United States
Leland
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This is correct. You always revert to the next LOWEST card during this phase. In their example, the last #3 card is already available and can't be selected as an option, so it goes to the next available lowest which is #2. This process is always followed in each era.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Donald Walsh
United States
Columbia
Maryland
flag msg tools
I buy science fiction/fantasy book collections in MD/DC/VA. GeekMail me.
badge
I buy science fiction/fantasy book collections in MD/DC/VA. GeekMail me.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
But the rules preceding the example state that if the resulting roll results in more of that card than half the # of players, that die should be re-rolled.

You are to use the next lowest card if there are no cards available of the number rolled.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Jones
United States
Leland
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
True but if you can't place it you go to the next lowest. So, in their example, the next card that could be legally "placed" is the #2 card. I can see where some confusion would result with this and it probably could have been worded better or in a better order. The main thing to remember is the card number rolled would have to be available and be legal to place, then re-roll if those conditions are not met.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Donald Walsh
United States
Columbia
Maryland
flag msg tools
I buy science fiction/fantasy book collections in MD/DC/VA. GeekMail me.
badge
I buy science fiction/fantasy book collections in MD/DC/VA. GeekMail me.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, I read the rules as follows:

Move to next lower number if a slot is empty.

Re-roll if adding a card would cause it to exceed half the number of players.

The rules state this pretty clearly, then the example contradicts this, the way I'm reading it. It gives an instance that would require a re-roll according to the rules on the previous page, but instead they go to the next lowest pile (twice).

Not to be obtuse, but am I missing something somehow?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Jones
United States
Leland
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I went back and more carefully examined their example. They did re-roll after the first selection for the reason in question. The next roll was not available (no more cards) so they went to the next lowest card. I think I was wrong on my first reading of the rule as well. Their example does follow the rules though
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Donald Walsh
United States
Columbia
Maryland
flag msg tools
I buy science fiction/fantasy book collections in MD/DC/VA. GeekMail me.
badge
I buy science fiction/fantasy book collections in MD/DC/VA. GeekMail me.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
OK, because on the file here on BGG, no mention is made of a re-roll. Perhaps the rules posted here were not quite 99% finished. I mention this because I do not own the game (yet).

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Donald Walsh
United States
Columbia
Maryland
flag msg tools
I buy science fiction/fantasy book collections in MD/DC/VA. GeekMail me.
badge
I buy science fiction/fantasy book collections in MD/DC/VA. GeekMail me.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I own the game now, and the example was corrected in the published version.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.