Popular Tags: [View All]
Austin Andersen
United States
Berrien Springs
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I am curious what makes a good wargame a good wargame. What qualities do you look for when choosing a wargame? What do you consider the best wargame you've played? What is your favorite wargame? Obviously there is the conflict aspect of a wargame that might not necessarily be present in a strategy game, but are there other aspects that are critical? Is it safe to say that most wargamers like having a board to play on instead of just cards? I'm looking for opinions on wargames as a whole, as I am trying to understand them better.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nagato Fujibayashi

Athens
msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Just see what is available and make your decisions on what's your taste and what not with free spirit.

I am very new to boardgaming. I was born in Europe in the 70s when many others in here were already playing wargames in America, so our perspective is much different. So the games that I appreciate, buy and spend time upon have mainly the following characteristics, with some exceptions of course:

-emphasis on the maneuver aspect

-emphasis on strategic thinking over luck. Battle chaos resulting from opponent's decisions clash rather than a third game factor that intervenes in-between us such as dice.

-historic accuracy is much appreciated but I won't go nuts if a game likes to be more free and just keep a more general feeling of the era rather than a fully accurate and strict approach. Anyhow no game I think is 100% accurate, so the red lines for everyone can change freely.

-if a tactic is historically inaccurate yet legal, I use it without any hesitation.