Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Freikorps» Forums » Rules

Subject: "Control" for purposes of strategic movement rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Slovakia
Bratislava
--
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
How is control defined? In a game yesterday a friend wanted to use strategic movement to make sweeping advances into enemy supply lines not covered by rearguard units.

The rules talk about control in 7.2 (b) and about adjacency to enemy units in (c) so I assumed control is not just adjacency to units.

Is control defined by the last unit to have occupied the hex? If no units have occupied a hex before, is everything the red player sets up in initially red-controlled and the rest white?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Train
Canada
Victoria
British Columbia
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Some text about control got left out of 2.3.

Control: There are several references in these rules to one side or the other controlling hexes. Generally, players control a hex if they were the last player to have a unit traverse that hex during movement. Players are also assumed to have automatic control of all hexes of their respective national territories at the beginning of the game).

So, your friend cannot use Strategic Movement to make those sweeping advances.
But you will find it useful to have a continuous front line if you can!

Brian
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Slovakia
Bratislava
--
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you for clarifying!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.