Subject: cheapest way to be competitive? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brandon Fraley
United States
San Leandro
California
flag msg tools
Hi I'm new to netrunner and have enjoyed the couple games I've played so far. One of the things I was so attracted to was the idea that netrunner would be cheaper and easier to mentally sta on top of because of the lcg format. However new sets seem to come out every single month and it feels completely overwhelming mentally and financially.

I'm hoping that someone can fill me in on how these sets usually work and how I can get by without needing to buy all off them and still stay competitive.

Thanks,

-B

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Conor Hickey
Ireland
Dublin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
A cycle is six monthly packs, and will probably be followed by a 'big box' expansion - so six months of the year you'll need to spend about $10, and one $20-$25 - to get every card.

As for staying competitive, if you're going to play in tournaments you probably need access to most if not all the cards available, if you want to stay competitive locally you most likely don't need them all.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Drake Villareal
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmb
Cheesesailor77 wrote:
Hi I'm new to netrunner and have enjoyed the couple games I've played so far. One of the things I was so attracted to was the idea that netrunner would be cheaper and easier to mentally sta on top of because of the lcg format. However new sets seem to come out every single month and it feels completely overwhelming mentally and financially.

I'm hoping that someone can fill me in on how these sets usually work and how I can get by without needing to buy all off them and still stay competitive.

Thanks,

-B

If you don't want to go whole hog, then just focus on 2 factions (1 runner 1 corp).