Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jon Gane
New Zealand
Nelson
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Hey BGG team,

Long time lurker here, just starting to get involved with the community. I've been sticking to the BGG shadows for about ten months now. I'm sure someone else here has asked this question before. Anyway, that's enough rambling. (Get on with it, Jon)

Just like everyone else here...I've been developing a board game for the past year or slightly more. I was wondering where I might get the most feedback from. I sort of want to do an episodic thing, where I just talk about what I am up to and how things are changing with the game. And, hopefully, I can get a bit of feedback about the whole process from the gurus and pro/ams around this space.

I realize a blog sounds ideal for this, and I imagine everyone here is going to tell me to do a blog. But, I have this weird feeling that if I do a blog, I need to update it regularly to keep people engaged. Where as, if I just throw down in the forums every so often, I might still get some exposure. And, I also won't feel guilty when I don't update it for a very long time. Which is very possible...

To start things off, I thought I might tell about my first foray into design.

I played a lot of board/card games as a kid growing up in Canada. As usual, they were the standard terrible ones. Lots of Risk and Monopoly, but also some that I still think fondly of looking back, like Stratego. After becoming a Geologist, and working in the industry for a while, I thought, why not make a geology/exploration focused boardgame, it can't be that hard... So I started without looking into the progression of boardgame design since I was a kid, I jumped straight into it. I had no idea about BGG at the time.