Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: First game and I have a few questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dave Johnson
Canada
Moncton
New Brunswick
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
1) During the overlord start of turn how close do they have to follow the turn order? Specifically, can they draw their card and then use it if that card can only be played at the start of turn abilities? For example can the overlord draw the dark charm card and then immediately use it even though the turn order says use start of turn abilities and then draw a card?

2)How do you know when to use a master monster? In first blood you get some goblin archers and an Ettin. Is one of the archers a master and the ettin is a Master as well?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darren Nakamura
United States
Columbus
Mississippi
flag msg tools
http://www.destructoid.com/author.phtml?a=1364
badge
Darren@destructoid.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. Yes, the Overlord can draw a card with a "start of turn" trigger (such as Word of Misery or Dark Charm) and immediately play it. Essentially, there is a "start of turn" phase in which the OL can do anything with the "start of turn" trigger in any order he wants.

2. The monsters you use are determined by their group limits (See Quest Guide, Page 2). On the back of the monster cards, at the bottom, you will find sets of numbers corresponding to two, three, and four heroes. Depending on how many heroes you are playing against, you use the instructed number and rank of each monster. For instance, in First Blood, you would have four Minion Goblin Archers, one Master Goblin Archer, one Minion Ettin, and one Master Ettin, if you are playing against four heroes.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Williams
Canada
Mississauga
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
Regarding "Start of turn," the Overlord's "start of turn" is everything he does before activating any monsters. It implicitly ends whe he activates his first monster.

Likewise, the overlord's "end of turn" phase begins after he has finished activating monsters. If he does something that requires his "end of turn" then he can't activate any more monsters.

Note also that all monsters are technically "activated" even if they do nothing - you can't prevent your zombies from burning by refusing to activate them at all.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.